About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history: IWGP champ wins G-1 in 1995, Orton beats Benoit

by Brian Hoops

1940 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Orville Brown beat Bobby Bruns in 2 of 3 falls, Don McIntyre beat Andy Mexiner and Jack Hader beat Leo Jensen 

1942 - Steve Casey defeated the French Angel for the AWA (Boston
version) World Heavyweight Title in Boston, Massachusetts.

1961 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Hard Boiled Haggerty dq, AWA US Champion Gene Kiniski beat Roy McClarty, Mr. M (Big Bill Miller) beat Bob Rassmussen and Dale Lewis beat Tiny Mills

1970 - Bobby Shane defeated Nick Bockwinkel to win the Georgia TV Title
in Atlanta, Georgia.

1972 - In Tampa, Florida at the Fort Homer Hesterly Armory; Eddie Graham beat Redbeard, Mr Wrestling Tim Woods beat Paul Jones, Bob Orton & Hiro Matsuda beat Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens to win Florida Tag Titles and Bob Orton beat Bob Roop

1974 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada;AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel, The Crusher & Ivan Putski beat Baron Von Raschke & Superstar Billy Graham in 2 of 3 falls; Larry Hennig no contest Geoff Portz, Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson and Jim Brunzell & Bull Bullinski beat Big K & Buddy Wolff

1979 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; Stan Hansen & Bobby Duncum beat Verne Gagne & Mad Dog Vachon to win AWA Tag Team Titles (title change not acknowledged in United States), Greg Gagne dcor AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel, Paul Ellering beat Jesse Ventura, Super Destroyer Mark II beat Billy Robinson, Steve Olsonoski beat Ron Ritchie and Buddy Wolff beat Peter Sandor Szabo Attendance was 5,000

1981 - In Rockford, Illinois; AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura, Tito Santana beat Sheik Adnan dq, In a Handicap Match; Hulk Hogan beat Eddie Boulder & Chris Curtis & Tony Leone,  Brad Rheingans beat Ben DeLeon and George Gadaski beat Nacho Barrera

1981 - Wahoo McDaniel and Terry Funk defeated Tully Blanchard and Gino
Hernandez for the Southwest Tag Team Title in San Antonio, Texas.

1988 - Memphis, TN at Mid South Coliseum; In a 90 minute time limit, AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Kerry Von Erich, 
RPMs beat Scott Steiner & Billy Travis to win Southern tag title, Jeff Jarrett & Bill Dundee beat Jimmy Golden & Mongolian Stomper,
Brickhouse Brown beat Gary Young dq, CWA Champion Phil Hickerson beat Ray Odyssey and 
World Class Light Heavyweight Champion Eric Embry beat Shawn Baxter

1994 - Dante & The Great Mephisto defeated PG-13 for the USWA Tag Team
Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1995 - Keiji Mutoh defeated Shinya Hashimoto to win New Japan Pro
Wrestling's 5th Annual G1-Climax Tournament.

2004 - Randy Orton defeated Chris Benoit to win the Raw World Title at SummerSlam in
Toronto, Canada. Also, Edge defeated Chris Jericho and Batista to retain the Intercontinental Title. 

2010 - At SummerSlam, Melina defeated Alicia Fox to win the Divas Title.