About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history: Orton loses title in rookie year, Rick Rude wins WCW Int title in Japan

By Brian Hoops

1884 - Duncan C. Ross defeated James McLaughlin in a best-of-three falls
match in Cleveland,
Ohio for the American Collar-and-Elbow Title
1947 - Ray Steele defeated Marshall Estep for the NWA World Junior
Heavyweight Title in Des Moines, Iowa
1952 - Emil and Ernie Dusek defeated Mr. X (Jack Moore) and Mr. XX (Frank
Taylor) to become the first Nebraska Tag Team Champions in Omaha, Nebraska.
1958 - Ivan and Karol Kalmikoff defeated Guy and Joe Brunetti to win the
Calgary NWA Canadian Tag Team
Title in Edmonton, Alberta,
1964 - George and Sandy Scott won the American Wrestling
Alliance World Tag Team Title from Doc and Mike Gallagher.
1975 - Oki Shikina and Yasu Fuji defeated Mike George and Jerry Oates to
win the Central States NWA World Tag Team Title in Topeka, Kansas.
1976 - Invader I and Don Muraco defeated Pedro Morales and Pat Patterson
for the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in Sacramento, California.
1978 - Dale Valentine defeated Al Madril to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight
Title in Houston, Texas.
1979 - Charlie Cook defeated Ron Bass for the NWA Arkansas Heavyweight
Title in Little Rock, Arkansas.
1980 - The Dynamite Kid defeated Keith Hart in a tournament final to win
the vacant Stampede British Commonwealth Mid-Heavyweight Title in Red
Deer, Alberta.
1981 - Mike Graham and Barry Windham defeated The Assassins to become the
Florida NWA North American Tag Team Champions in Tampa, Florida.
1984 - King Tonga defeated Bob Sweetan for the WWC Puerto Rico
Heavyweight Title in Bayamón, Puerto Rico
1986 - Lance Von Erich defeated Buddy Roberts to win the World Class
Television Title in Fort Worth, Texas.
1986 - The MOD Squad (Basher and Spike) defeated The Fantastics (Bobby
Fulton and Tommy Rogers) to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Title in
Memphis, Tennessee. At the same event, Billy Travis defeated Abdul
Khadafi (Danny Miller) for the AWA International Heavyweight Title.
1989 - The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs and Jerry Sags) defeated Johnny Ace
and The Terminator for the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in St. Petersburg,
1989 - Davey Boy Smith won the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title
in Calgary, Alberta, by defeating Don Muraco.
1990 - Abdullah the Butcher defeated TNT (Savio Vega) for the WWC
Universal Heavyweight Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico. At the same event,
Leo Burke defeated Carlos Colón to win the WWC Television Title
1991 - At Wrestlemania VII in Los Angeles, California; The Nasty Boys
defeated The Hart Foundation to win the WWF World Tag Team Titles. Also,
The Ultimate Warrior defeated Randy Savage in a retirement match and
Hulk Hogan pinned Sgt. Slaughter to win the WWF World Title.
1992 - Ron Harris won the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title from
Steve Doll in Vancouver, Washington.
1994 - Rick Rude defeated Hiroshi Hase for the WCW International World
Heavyweight Title in Kyoto, Japan.
2000 - Cody Hawk defeated Shark Boy in North Versailles, Pennsylvania to
win the Pro Wrestling eXpress Television Title.
2001 - Flash Flanagan defeated Randy Orton to win the OVW Hardcore Title
in Jeffersonville, Indiana.
2002 - Masahiro Chono and Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeated Yuji Nagata and
Manabu Nakanishi to win the IWGP Tag Team Title in Kobe, Japan, in a
tournament final.