About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history: Styles wins ROH tag title, Sabu wins Univeral title, Bruno vs. Kiniski

By Brian Hoops  

1905 - Tom Jenkins defeated Frank Gotch in New York City, New York to
win the American Heavyweight Title
1951 - Roy Shire defeated Jackie Nichols in Columbus, Ohio for the
Midwest Wrestling Association World Junior Heavyweight Title.
1956 - Whipper Billy Watson defeated Lou Thesz by countout to win the
NWA World Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario
1957 - Don and Red McIntyre defeated Don and Mark Lewin to win the
Georgia NWA International Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia.
1962 - Chris and John Tolos won the Toronto NWA International Tag Team
Title in Toronto, Ontario, by defeating Bill Soloweyko and Whipper Billy
1962 - Mario LaPentero and Billy Varga defeated Nick Bockwinkel and King
Koenig for the World Wrestling Association International Television Tag
Team Title in Long Beach, California.
1965 - WWWF champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Gene Kiniski by countout.
1967 - Jim Hady defeated Ripper Collins for the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight
Title in Honolulu, Hawaii
1968 - Bob Orton and Mad Dog Vachon defeated Doug Gilbert and Reggie
Parks to win the AWA Midwest Tag Team Title in Omaha, Nebraska
1968 - Waldo Von Erich defeated Ox Baker in Calgary, Alberta to win the
Stampede North American Heavyweight Title.
1968 - Ripper Collins and Curtis Iaukea defeated Jim Hady and The
Missing Link (Pampero Firpo) to win the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in
Honolulu, Hawaii
1968 - Cobra Kid and Scorpion defeated Dennis Hall and Ken Lucas to win
the NWA Gulf Coast Tag Team Title in Dothan, Alabama.
1974 - Ron and Terry Garvin defeated Bob Armstrong and Robert Fuller to
win the NWA Georgia Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia
1982 - Ron Bass defeated Tommy Rich to win the NWA National Heavyweight
Title in Augusta, Georgia
1987 - The Killer Bees defeated Demolition to win the Frank Tunney Sr.
Memorial Tag Team Tournament and earn an immediate WWF Tag Team Title
match. WWF Tag Team Champions The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart and Jim
Neidhart) defeated The Killer Bees to retain the title.
1987 - Mike Rotunda won the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title by defeating
Ed Gantner in Daytona Beach, Florida. At the same event, The MOD Squad
(Basher and Spike) defeated The Southern Boys (Steve Armstrong and Tracy
Smothers) to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title.
1991 - Tom Prichard defeated Jeff Jarrett for the USWA Southern
Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas
1993 - The Moondogs (Splat and Spot) defeated The Big Black Dog and
Brian Christopher to win the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee,
1998 - Tank defeated Jerry Lawler for the USWA Unified World Heavyweight
Title in Memphis, Tennessee
1999 - During a live Monday Nitro event from Cincinnati, Ohio Rey
Misterio, Jr. defeated WCW Cruiserweight Champion Billy Kidman to win
the title.
1999 - During a Monday Night Raw episode from San Jose, California; Road
Dogg defeated WWF Intercontinental Champion Val Venis to win the title.
2003 - The Amazing Red and A.J. Styles defeated Christopher Daniels and
Donovan Morgan to win the ROH Tag Team Title in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
2003 - Sabu defeated Carly Colón for the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title
in Carolina, Puerto Rico
2009 - At the Destination X PPV in Orlando, Florida, Suicide became new
X-Division champion by defeating Alex Shelley, Chris Sabin, Jay Lethal
and Consequences Creed