Skip to main content

Longtime WWE employee Rich Hering to receive Warrior Award


Two Warrior Award recipients will be honored at tonight's WWE Hall of Fame ceremony.

WWE has announced that Rich Hering, who has worked for the company for more than 50 years, will receive the 2021 Warrior Award at tonight's Hall of Fame ceremony. Titus O'Neil is receiving the 2020 Warrior Award.

"As WWE’s Senior Vice President of Government Relations and Risk Management, Hering began his career more than 50 years ago with Vince McMahon’s father, Vincent J. McMahon, and helped WWE expand from a regional promotion into the juggernaut it is today," WWE wrote. "Whether it is leading security efforts, working with state athletic commissions and other organizations on WWE events or overseeing the health and well-being of WWE talent and fans, Hering has consistently gone above and beyond the call of his day-to-day responsibilities."

“On behalf of everyone at WWE, we are proud to present Rich Hering with this incredible honor,” said Stephanie McMahon, WWE Chief Brand Officer. “Rich has dedicated more than half a century to WWE and the WWE Universe, and has truly seen and done it all. From ensuring the health and safety of WWE Superstars and employees; presiding over the wedding of Macho Man and Miss Elizabeth; and being an ‘uncle’ to Dana Warrior and her children, Mattie and Indy, there is no one more deserving of this accolade.”

The Warrior Award was established in 2015 and is "presented to an individual who has exhibited unwavering strength and perseverance and who lives life with the courage and compassion that embodies the indomitable spirit of The Ultimate Warrior." Connor "The Crusher" Michalek, Joan Lunden, Eric LeGrand, Jarrius "JJ" Robertson, \ Sue Aitchison, O'Neil, and Hering have been honored with the award since it was introduced.

Aitchison, who is the company's director of community relations, was the first behind-the-scenes WWE employee to receive the Warrior Award.

This year's WWE Hall of Fame ceremony was taped last week and is airing at 8 p.m. Eastern time tonight. It will air on Peacock in the United States and the WWE Network everywhere else. The ceremony will include both the 2020 and 2021 WWE Hall of Fame classes being inducted.

Here's the list of honorees for tonight's ceremony:

2020 WWE Hall of Fame class --

  • The nWo (Hulk Hogan, Kevin Nash, Scott Hall & Sean "X-Pac" Waltman)
  • Nikki & Brie Bella
  • JBL
  • British Bulldog Davey Boy Smith
  • Jushin Thunder Liger
  • Celebrity inductee: William Shatner
  • Warrior Award recipient: Titus O'Neil

2021 WWE Hall of Fame class --

  • Molly Holly
  • Eric Bischoff
  • Kane
  • The Great Khali
  • Rob Van Dam
  • Celebrity inductee; Ozzy Osbourne
  • Warrior Award recipient: Rich Hering