Skip to main content

Super Junior Tag League finals official for NJPW Power Struggle


With the Road to Power Struggle tour coming to an end this morning, we now know which teams will be facing off in the Super Junior Tag League finals.

It will be SHO & YOH vs. El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru in the tournament finals at Power Struggle this Sunday. Both teams won their matches today and enter the finals with 5-2 records in the Super Junior Tag League.

SHO & YOH defeated Taiji Ishimori & El Phantasmo this morning, while Desperado & Kanemaru defeated Will Ospreay & Robbie Eagles. Ishimori & Phantasmo also finished with a 5-2 record, but SHO & YOH and Desperado & Kanemaru both hold tiebreakers over them due to defeating Ishimori & Phantasmo during the tournament.

Today's show ended with an angle where Desperado & Kanemaru attacked SHO & YOH and laid them out ahead of the finals.

The Super Junior Tag League finals should set up an IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team title match for Wrestle Kingdom 14. Ishimori & Phantasmo are the current Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions.

BUSHI interfered in Desperado & Kanemaru vs. Ospreay & Eagles today and spit mist into Ospreay's eyes. Ospreay cut a post-match promo saying he accepts BUSHI's challenge and will defend his IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship against BUSHI at Power Struggle.

Power Struggle is taking place at the Edion Arena in Osaka this Sunday and will air live on New Japan World at 1 a.m. Eastern time. Jay White defending the IWGP Intercontinental title against Hirooki Goto, Tomohiro Ishii challenging for KENTA's NEVER Openweight title, Tetsuya Naito vs. Taichi, and Kazuchika Okada & YOSHI-HASHI vs. Kota Ibushi & Hiroshi Tanahashi have also been announced for the show.