Skip to main content

NJPW Summer Struggle results: Elimination match main event


NJPW's Summer Struggle tour continued today with the second of four straight nights in Korakuen Hall. 

Members of CHAOS took on a Suzuki-gun squad in an elimination match main event, while Jeff Cobb and Great-O-Khan faced Kazuchika Okada and Tomoaki Honma in the semi-main.

KOPW 2021 Chase Owens and his next challenger Toru Yano were in action on the undercard, as were IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions Taiji Ishimori and El Phantasmo.

The opener featured new Young Lions Ryohei Oiwa and Kosei Fujita meeting for the second consecutive night. They drew in Tuesday's opener. 

Below are results from today's show. 


Ryohei Oiwa drew with Kosei Fujita (10:00)

The Young Lions went to another time limit draw.

Taiji Ishimori & El Phantasmo defeated Minoru Suzuki & DOUKI (10:27)

Ishimori pinned DOUKI after ELP hit him with Sudden Death. 

Toru Yano & Togi Makabe defeated Chase Owens & Jado by DQ (7:43)

Owens was DQ'ed for kicking Yano low and throwing the referee out of the ring.

Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan defeated Kazuchika Okada & Tomoaki Honma (14:28) 

Cobb pinned Honma after a Tour of the Islands.

Elimination match: Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI, Robbie Eagles & Tiger Mask defeated Taichi, Zack Sabre Jr., El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru (29:41)

Goto was the sole survivor. Taichi and Sabre came back to the ring after the match and laid Goto and YH out. 

Order of elimination:

  • Tiger Mask (top rope by Desperado)
  • Desperado (top rope by Eagles)
  • Eagles (top rope by Kanemaru)
  • Kanemaru (top rope by YH)
  • Taichi (top rope by YH)
  • YH (top rope by Sabre)
  • Sabre (top rope by Goto)


Here are the lineups for the next two nights:

NJPW Summer Struggle, Thursday, August 26, 5:30 a.m. Eastern time on NJPW World --

  • Kazuchika Okada & Satoshi Kojima vs. Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan
  • El Desperado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Minoru Suzuki vs. Taiji Ishimori, El Phantasmo & Jado
  • Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI & Tiger Mask vs. Taichi, Zack Sabre Jr. & DOUKI
  • Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Master Wato vs. Tomoaki Honma & Robbie Eagles
  • Ryohei Oiwa vs. Kosei Fujita

NJPW Summer Struggle, Friday, August 27, 5:30 a.m. Eastern time on NJPW World --

  • Hiromu Takahashi vs. DOUKI
  • Robbie Eagles vs. Master Wato
  • Kazuchika Okada & Togi Makabe vs. Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan
  • Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI & Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Taichi, Zack Sabre Jr. & Minoru Suzuki
  • Ryohei Oiwa vs. Kosei Fujita