Skip to main content

Daily Pro Wrestling History (02/01): Suzuki & Takayama win IWGP Tag Team titles



Montreal, Quebec, Canada:
- Bobby Managoff won the Montreal World Heavyweight Title by defeating Yvon Roberts

Des Moines, Iowa:
- NWA World Junior Heavyweight Champion Leroy McGuirk beat Billy Goelz 2 out of 3 falls
- Farmer Jones beat Jack Hader 
- Lee Henning beat Vic Christy


Houston, Texas:
- Ray Gunkel and Miguel Guzman defeated Ivan Kalmikoff and Duke Keomuka to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Titles


Houston, Texas:
- NWA World Heavyweight Champion Lou Thesz defeated Killer Kowalski 


Vancouver, British Columbia
- The Fabulous Kangaroos (Al Costello and Roy Heffernan) defeated Don Leo Jonathan and Gene Kiniski for the Vancouver NWA Canadian Tag Team Titles


Orlando, Florida:
- NWA World Title: Gene Kiniski defeated Klondike Bill in 2 out of 3 falls
- The Medics defeated Eddie Graham & Sam Steamboat in 2 out of 3 falls
- Jesse James defeated Red Roberts
- Jose Lothario defeated Tom Bradley


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Bob Brown and Bob Geigel won the NWA North American Tag Team Titles by defeating Ron Etchison and Klondike Bill in a Texas Death Match
- Pat O’Connor defeated Pedro Valdez 
- Stan the Moose defeated Steve Bolus


Omaha, Nebraska:
- Stan Pulaski defeated Mike DiBiase to win the AWA Midwest Heavyweight Title 


Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
- King Curtis Iaukea and Baron Mikel Scicluna defeated Karl Gotch and Rene Goulet to win the WWWF World Tag Team Titles


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Bob Geigel and Rufus R. Jones defeated Roger Kirby and Harley Race to win the NWA North American Tag Team Titles


Portland, Oregon:
- Killer Karl Krupp and Kurt Von Steiger defeated Dutch Savage and Jimmy Snuka for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Titles


Tampa, Florida:
- Dusty Rhodes & The Assassin defeated Steve Strong & Superstar Billy Graham
- Buddy Wolff defeated Steve Keirn
- Jack & Jerry Brisco & Jos LeDuc defeated Pat McGinnis & Seigfried Stanke & Ox Baker
- Mike Graham defeated Bob Orton, Jr.
- Mr. X drew Skip Young
- Kevin Sullivan defeated Angelo Poffo


Sapporo, Japan:
- Tatsumi Fujinami defeated Steve Keirn to win the NWA International Junior Heavyweight Title

Shreveport, Louisiana:
- Ted DiBiase defeated Mike George to win the Mid-South North American Heavyweight Title 


Lake Charles, Louisiana:
- Leroy Brown and Ernie Ladd defeated The Junkyard Dog and Killer Karl Kox for the Mid-South Tag Team Titles


Memphis, Tennessee:
- Jay Strongbow, Jr. pinned Kenny Shane
- Roy Rogers & Ric McCord beat The Nightmare & Speed
- Stan Lane pinned Dream Machine
- Dutch Mantel, Ricky & Robert Gibson drew Bobby Eaton, The Cuban & Iranian Assassins
- Jerry Lawler beat Sweet Brown Sugar (5th Rnd) via DQ in a "boxing" match
- Southern Tag Champs Bill Dundee & Steve Keirn beat Norvell Austin & Dennis Condrey via DQ


Memphis, Tennessee:
- Max Pain & Gary Young beat Jerry Bryant & Lou Winston
- The Rock-n-Roll RPMs beat Koko Ware & King Cobra
- Jeff Jarrett & Manny Fernandez beat Jimmy Jack Funk & Teijo Kahn
- Carl Fergie & Don Bass beat Jerry Lawler & Bill Dundee via DQ
- Ron & Don Harris beat Ken Wayne & Scott Hall forfeit
- Max Pain & Gary Young beat Ron & Don Harris
- Jeff Jarrett & Manny Fernandez beat The Rock-n-Roll RPMs
- Jeff Jarrett & Manny Fernandez beat Don Bass & Carl Fergie
- Max Pain & Gary Young beat Jeff Jarrett & Manny Fernandez to become the first CWA Tag Team Champions
- Jeff Jarrett & Manny Fernandez beat AWA Tag Champs Shawn Michaels & Marty Jannetty via DQ


Memphis, Tennessee:
- Mike Rotunda pinned Ranger Ross
- Shane Douglas & Johnny Ace defeated Jack Victory & Rip Morgan
- Norman pinned Kevin Sullivan
- Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson defeated Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane
- The Road Warriors, NWA Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated Doom, Mark Callous & Dan Spivey
- NWA World Champion Ric Flair pinned NWA US Champion Lex Luger


WWF Saturday Night's Main Event: Macon, Georgia:
- Hulk Hogan and Tugboat defeated Dino Bravo and Earthquake (with Jimmy Hart)
- Jim Duggan defeated WWF Champion Sgt. Slaughter (with General Adnan) by disqualification
- The Legion of Doom (Animal and Hawk) defeated The Orient Express (Kato and Tanaka) (with Mr. Fuji)

Baltimore, Maryland:
- Brad Armstrong defeated Moondog Rex
- Bobby Eaton fought Tom Zenk to a draw
- Brian Pillman defeated Big Cat
- WCW Tag Team Champions Doom defeated Tracy Smothers & Steve Armstrong
- Terry Taylor defeated Brad Armstrong
- WCW US Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated WCW TV Champion Arn Anderson & Barry Windham
- Sting & WCW US Champion Lex Luger defeated WCW World Champion Ric Flair & Sid Vicious via disqualification


Charlottesville, Virginia:
- Firebreaker Chip fought Marcus Alexander Bagwell (sub. for Diamond Dallas Page) to a time-limit draw
- Todd Champion pinned Sgt. Buddy Lee Parker 
- Big Josh pinned Joey Maggs
- Johnny B. Badd pinned Ricky Morton 
- Rick & Scott Steiner defeated Tracy Smothers & Vinnie Vegas (sub. for Steve Armstrong)
- Abdullah the Butcher pinned Cactus Jack 
- WCW US Champion Rick Rude defeated Ricky Steamboat via disqualification
- Barry Windham, Dustin Rhodes, & Ron Simmons defeated Larry Zbyzsko, WCW Tag Team Champions Arn Anderson & Bobby Eaton in a steel cage match

Caguas, Puerto Rico:
- Ron Garvin defeated Carlos Colon for the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title 


Memphis, Tennessee:
- The Moondogs (Splat and Spot) defeated The Harris Brothers (Ron and Don) to win the USWA Tag Team Titles


ECW Crossing the Line: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
- ECW World Heavyweight Champion Raven pinned Steve Williams to retain the title
- ECW Tag Team Champions The Eliminators (Kronus and Saturn) defeated Sabu and Rob Van Dam to retain the title
- Terry Funk pinned Tommy Rich
- Tommy Dreamer and The Pitbulls defeated The Triple Threat (Chris Candido, Shane Douglas and Brian Lee)


Osaka, Japan:
- Jushin Liger and Takehiro Murahama defeated Black Buffalo and Tsubasa for the Osaka Pro Wrestling Tag Team Titles 

Humacao, Puerto Rico:
 - Carly Colon won the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title from Chicky Starr


Sapporo, Japan:
- Minoru Suzuki and Yoshihiro Takayama defeated Osamu Nishimura and Hiroyoshi Tenzan for the IWGP World Tag Team Titles