Skip to main content

Daily Pro Wrestling History (06/29): Stan Hansen stripped of AWA World title



Kansas City, Kansas:

- Lee Wykoff beat Dave Levin to capture the MWA World Heavyweight Title


St. Paul, Minnesota:

- Crusher beat Moose Evans in 2 out of 3 falls

- AWA Tag Team Champions Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff beat Tiny Mills & Stan Kowalski

- Don McClarty beat Joe "Tiger" Tomasso 

- Doug Gilbert no contest Iron Mike DiBiase  

Waterloo, Iowa:

- AWA Champion Verne Gagne defeated Bob Orton

- The Medics defeated Steve Bolus & Steve Kovacs  

- Bob Geigel beat Ray Gordon


Amarillo, Texas:

- Nick Kozak won a Russian Roulette battle royal for $1,000

- Kinji Shibuya beat Dory Funk Jr to win North American Title

- Bearcat Wright & Thunderbolt Patterson beat AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race by DQ

- Nick Kozak drew The Alaskan


Bloomington, Minnesota:

- AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Larry Hennig

- The Crusher & Bill Watts beat Harley Race & Dr. X

- Mad Dog Vachon beat Dutch Savage


Kansas City, Kansas:

- Rufus R. Jones defeated Juan Sebastian

- Omar Atlas & Bob Geigel defeated Chati Yokouchi & Yasu Fuji

- Harley Race beat Pat O’Connor 

- The Stomper & Danny Little Bear beat Roger Kirby & Black Angus

Fargo, North Dakota:

- In a cage match: The Crusher beat Ivan Koloff

- Wahoo McDaniel beat Larry Hennig 

- Dusty Rhodes beat Don Muraco


Denver, Colorado:

- The Crusher & Wahoo McDaniel beat Superstar Billy Graham & Ivan Koloff in 2 out of 3 falls

- Billy Robinson beat Ray Stevens via DQ

- Geoff Portz beat Rene Goulet 

- Greg Gagne beat Bill Crouch

Mexico City, Mexico:

- Kim Sung Ho defeated Alfonso Dantes for the EMLL NWA Light Heavyweight Title


Minneapolis, Minnesota:

- Ivan Putski beat Superstar Billy Graham by countout 

- Billy Robinson beat Larry Heiniemi

- Handicap Match: (Hennig must beat both men within 20 minute time limit) Larry Hennig beat Jim Brunzell but was unable to beat Greg  Gagne

- Vivian Vachon beat Mars Monroe 

- Bull Bullinski beat Tom DeMarco 

- Paul Perschmann beat Doug Somers 

Chicago, Illinois:

- AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Wahoo McDaniel & Chris Taylor 

- Bobo Brazil beat Baron Von Raschke by DQ

- Moose Cholak drew Buddy Wolff

- Geoff Portz beat Oddjob

- Jose Martine beat Tony Romano

- Billy Howard beat George Gadaski


Denver, Colorado:

- Stan Hansen vs. Nick Bockwinkel for the AWA Title never took place. (Hansen was ordered to lose the belt to Bockwinkel and refused and left the building, ran over the AWA belt with his pickup and mailed the belt back to Gagne). The AWA announced that since World Champion Stan Hansen refused to wrestle Nick Bockwinkel, Hansen was stripped of the title and Bockwinkel was named the new champion 

- Verne Gagne & Greg Gagne & Jimmy Snuka beat Nord The Barbarian & Boris Zhukov & Sheik Adnan

- AWA Tag Team Champions Buddy Rose & Doug Somers beat Midnight Rockers 

- Sherri Martel beat Candi Devine


Memphis, Tennessee:

- Tom Prichard defeated Brian Christopher for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title 


Feds Creek, Kentucky:

- The Dirty White Boy defeated Headbanger Thrasher

- Tracy Smothers defeated Headbanger Mosh

- SMW Heavyweight Champion Buddy Landel defeated Boo Bradley

- Tracy Smothers & the Dirty White Boy defeated SMW Tag Team Champions Al Snow & Unabom via disqualification


Cleveland, Ohio:

- Steve Austin defeated Kane for the WWF World Heavyweight Title


Fayetteville, North Carolina:

- The Hardy Boyz defeated Faarooq & Bradshaw for the WWF World Tag Team Titles


WWE Night of Champions: Dallas, Texas:

- Jeff Hardy defeated Montel Vontavious Porter

- John Morrison and The Miz defeated Finlay and Hornswoggle to retain the WWE Tag Team Championship

- Matt Hardy defeated Chavo Guerrero (with Bam Neely) to retain the WWE United States Championship

- Mark Henry defeated Kane and Big Show to win the ECW Championship

- Ted DiBiase and Cody Rhodes defeated Hardcore Holly in a Handicap match for the World Tag Team Championship

- Kofi Kingston defeated Chris Jericho (with Lance Cade) to capture the WWE Intercontinental Championship

- Mickie James defeated Katie Lea Burchill (with Paul Burchill) to retain the WWE Women's Championship

- Edge defeated Batista to retain the World Heavyweight Championship

- Triple H defeated John Cena to retain the WWE Championship