Skip to main content

Daily Pro Wrestling History (09/09): Dusty Rhodes wins NWA TV title



Kansas City, Kansas:
- Mongolian Stomper beat Bob Geigel 2 falls to 1
- The Ox (Ox Baker) beat Bob Brown 
- Sonny Myers beat Bulldog Plechas by DQ
- Jerry Miller drew Thor Hagen


Boston, Massachusetts:
- WWWF World Champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Gorilla Monsoon in a Texas Death match 

Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Dr. X beat The Crusher by DQ
- Ramon Torres beat Harley Race
- Larry Hennig beat Al Kashey
- Rock Rogowski (Ole Anderson) beat Big K
- Chris Markoff beat Steve Druk
- Eddie Sharkey beat Paul Caruso


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
- Bill Watts & Moose Cholak beat Ivan Koloff & Big K
- Don Muraco & Wahoo McDaniel beat Larry Hennig & Dusty Rhodes
- Ramon Torres beat Higo Hamaguchi
- George Gadaski beat Cesar Pabon
- Rene Goulet beat Billy Howard

Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Dr X & Mad Dog Vachon
- Wilbur Snyder beat Hans Hermann
- Bull Bullinski beat Joe Guzman
- Jack Pesek beat Kenny Jay
- Jean Antone & Mars Monroe beat Belle Starr & Betty Niccoli


Omaha, Nebraska:
- Baron Von Raschke beat Billy Robinson in 2 out of 3 falls
- Pampero Firpo no contest Nick Bockwinkel
- Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant beat Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell
- Kim Duk beat Bull Bullinski 


Kansas City, Kansas:
- The Super Intern defeated Ox Baker in a Texas Death Match
- Skip Young & Rick Gibson fought Black Gordman & Great Goliath to a double-DQ
- Harley Race defeated Bob Brown to retain the Central States Title


Atlanta, Georgia:
- Tony Atlas and Tommy Rich defeated Pak Song and the Executioner to win the Georgia Tag Team Titles


Allentown, Pennsylvania:
- The Samoans defeated Tony Garea & Rene Goulet in a tournament final for the WWWF World Tag Team Titles 


St. Paul, Minnesota:
- AWA Champion Rick Martel drew Brad Rheingans
- AWA Tag Team Champions Road Warriors beat Steve O & Jim Brunzell
- Fabulous Ones & Blackjack Lanza beat Nick Bockwinkel & Mr. Saito & Bobby Heenan in a Weasel Suit Match
- Curt Hennig beat Harley Race by DQ
- Larry Zbyzsko beat Tom Zenk
- Billy Robinson beat Steve Regal


Columbia, South Carolina:
- Dusty Rhodes defeated Arn Anderson for the NWA Television Title


Houston, Texas: 
- Brad Armstrong pinned Rick Steiner
- Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers defeated Tug Taylor & Rip Morgan (sub. for the Sheepherders, who were in Puerto Rico)
- Nikita Koloff pinned Russian Assassin #1
- NWA US Champion Barry Windham defeated Sting via count-out
- Ricky Morton pinned Rip Morgan (sub. for NWA TV Champion Mike Rotunda)
- Dusty Rhodes & Steve Williams (sub. for Dick Murdoch) defeated Kevin Sullivan & Al Perez 
- NWA US Tag Team Champions Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane fought NWA Tag Team Champions Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard to a double disqualification
- Lex Luger defeated NWA World Champion Ric Flair via disqualification


Ft. Worth, Texas:
- Norman pinned Barry Horowitz
- Bill Irwin pinned David Sierra
- Susan Sexton defeated Bambi
- Stan Hansen pinned Tommy Rich
- Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin defeated Tracy Smothers & Steve Armstrong
- Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane defeated Terry Taylor & Hector Guerrero
- El Gigante defeated Dr. X (Randy Culley)
- NWA US Champion Lex Luger defeated Sid Vicious via count-out
- NWA World Champion Sting defeated Ric Flair at the 30-minute mark


Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
- Shane Douglas won the ECW Heavyweight Title via forfeit from Tito Santana


Mississauga, Ontario, Canada:
- Rhino defeated Kid Kash to become the last ECW Television Champion


TNA No Surrender: Orlando, Florida:
- Jeff Hardy beat Samoa Joe
- Bully Ray defeated James Storm
- TNA Knockouts Champion Brooke Tessmacher defeated Tara
- X Division Champion Zema Ion defeated Sonjay Dutt
- Rob Van Dam defeated Magnus
- TNA Tag Team Champions Frankie Kazarian & Christopher Daniels defeated AJ Styles & Kurt Angle
- Jeff Hardy defeated Bully Ray