Skip to main content

Daily Pro Wrestling History (10/09): Nick Bockwinkel regains AWA World title



Kansas City, Missouri:
- World Heavyweight Champion Dean Detton defeated Orville Brown in 2 out of 3 falls to retain the title


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Lou Thesz beat Joe Dusek in 2 out of 3 falls
- Orville Brown and Dorve Roche went to a time limit draw


Kansas City, Kansas:
- MWA Champion, Orville Brown beat Jack O’Brien in 2 straight falls to retain the title


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Red Berry defeated Sonny Myers to capture the Heart of America Heavyweight 


Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
- Billy Watson and Johnny Valentine defeated Professor Hiro and Fred Atkins to win the International Tag Team Titles 

Denver, Colorado:
- Harley Race beat Jack Lanza
- Larry Hennig & Art Neilson beat Ricky Romero & Wilbur Snyder


Miami Beach, Florida:
- NWA World Title: Gene Kiniski defeated Johnny Valentine 2 out of 3 falls 
- Jose Lothario defeated Great Malenko by DQ
- Miguel Perez defeated Pepe Villa 
- Tarzan Tyler & Louie Tillet defeated Bobby Hart & Sputnik Monroe 
- Joe Scarpa defeated Tank Morgan


Omaha, Nebraska:
- No DQ Match: Superstar Billy Graham beat Wahoo McDaniel 
- Ivan Koloff beat Red Bastien 
- Reggie Parks beat Ric Flair 


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
- AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Verne Gagne by DQ
- Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke
- Peter Maivia beat Blackjack Lanza


Orlando, Florida: 
- NWA World Title: Harley Race defeated Rocky Johnson to retain the title
- Don Muraco drew Lars Anderson (1 hour draw) 
- Mr. Saito & Ivan Koloff defeated Steve Keirn & Charlie Cook 
- Mike Graham defeated Mike York 
- Pedro Morales defeated Tank Patton 
- Buddy Roberts defeated Wilhelm Ruska 
- Raul Mata defeated John Boy Ruffin 
- Keith Franks (Adrian Adonis) defeated Don Serrano 


Tampa, Florida:
- Andre the Giant & Dusty Rhodes defeated Dory Funk, Jr. & Terry Funk 
- Florida TV Title: Sweet Brown Sugar defeated Bugsy McGraw to retain the title
- Eddie & Mike Graham & Ray Stevens defeated KIller Kahn & Mr. Hito & Mr. Sakurada 
- Steve Keirn defeated Thor the Viking 
- Jack Brisco & Steve Travis defeated Bill Irwin & Bryan St. John 
- Jerry Brisco beat Masked Terror 
- Jerry Roberts drew Raul Mata 


- Jack Brisco defeated Terry Funk in a tournament final to win the Georgia National Heavyweight Title


Chicago, Illinois:
- Nick Bockwinkel defeated Otto Wanz to regain the AWA World Heavyweight Title
- AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Rick Martel & Brad Rheingans
- Ken Patera beat Hulk Hogan by DQ
- Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan beat Buck Zumhofe & Spike Huber
- Ray Stevens beat Bobby Heenan
- Adrian Adonis beat Baron Von Raschke


Fort Lauderdale, Florida:
- Wahoo McDaniel defeated Rick Rude
- Blackjack Mulligan & Kendall Windham drew Kevin Sullivan & Bob Roop 
- Lady Maxine defeated Percy Pringle 
- Billy Haynes defeated Playboy Buddy Rose 
- Hector Guerrero defeated The Grappler 
- Cocoa Samoa drew Jack Hart


Baltimore, Maryland:
- NWA Mid-Atlantic Heavyweight Champion Ron Garvin defeated NWA US Tag Team Champion Ivan Koloff
- Jimmy Valiant defeated Baron Von Raschke
- Brad Armstrong defeated the Grim Reaper
- Tim Horner fought Shaska Whatley to a draw
- NWA TV Champion Dusty Rhodes defeated Tully Blanchard
- NWA Mid-Atlantic Heavyweight Champion Ron Garvin (sub. for injured NWA Tag Team Champion Robert Gibson) & NWA Tag Team Champion Ricky Morton defeated Ole & Arn Anderson via disqualification
- NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated Dick Murdoch


Greensboro, North Carolina:
- The Sheepherders defeated Chris Champion & the Italian Stallion
- Rip Morgan pinned Curtis Thompson
- The Fantastics defeated Rick Steiner & Kevin Sullivan
- The Road Warriors defeated Al Perez & Larry Zbyzsko
- NWA TV Champion Mike Rotunda pinned Ron Simmons
- Sting fought NWA US Champion Barry Windham to a double count-out 
- The Russian Assassins defeated Ivan & Nikita Koloff 
- Lex Luger defeated NWA World Champion Ric Flair via disqualification


Houston, Texas:
- Brian Pillman fought Brad Armstrong to a double disqualification
- Barry Windham & Dustin Rhodes defeated the Barbarian & Tony Atlas
- Sting defeated Cactus Jack in a lumberjack match (stipulations stated Sting would face Jake Roberts later in the show if he won)
- WCW World Champion Ron Simmons pinned WCW US Champion Rick Rude
- Sting pinned Jake Roberts in a lights out match

Evarts, Kentucky:
- Dixie Dynamite pinned Killer Kyle
- The Fantastics (Fultons) beat Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden 
- Brian Lee pinned The Nightstalker
- Tim Horner beat SMW Champ The Dirty White Boy via DQ
- he Rock-n-Roll Express beat The Heavenly Bodies (Lane & Pritchard) via DQ


Jacksonville, Florida:
- WCW Tag Team Champions the Nasty Boys defeated 2 Cold Scorpio & Marcus Alexander Bagwell
- Ron Simmons defeated Dick Slater
- WCW US Champion Dustin Rhodes & the Shockmaster defeated Harlem Heat
- Sting defeated Sid Vicious
- World Champion Paul Orndorff (defending the title for an injured Rick Rude) defeated Ric Flair via disqualification 

Barbourville, Kentucky:
- The Dirty White Boy pinned Tim Horner
- Chris Candido pinned Bobby Blaze to win the SMW U.S. Junior Heavyweight Title
- The Bullet pinned Killer Kyle
- SMW Tag Champs The Rock-n-Roll Express NC Steve & Scott Armstrong
- SMW Champ Brian Lee beat Tracy Smothers
- The Heavenly Bodies (Pritchard & Del Rey) beat Rick & Scott Steiner via DQ


Sydney, Australia: 
- Corporal Cajun (Lash LeRoux) & Lieutenant Loco (Chavo Guerrero Jr.) defeated Mark Jindrak & Sean O'Haire to win the WCW Tag Team Titles, but lost it back to Jindrak & O'Haire that same night


Moline, Illinois:
- Billy Kidman defeated X-Pac to win the Cruiserweight Title 


Nashville, Tennessee: 
- Syxx-Pac defeated AJ Styles, Kid Kash, Ace Steel, Jose & Joel Maximo, and Tony Mamaluke in a Ladder Match to win the vacant X-Division Title


Monterrey, Mexico:
- Abyss & Chessman beat Extreme Tiger & Jack Evans to win the AAA tag team tiles 
- Electroshock won the Antonio Pena Cup


NJPW King of Pro Wrestling: Tokyo, Japan:
- Seiya Sanada & Bushi & Hiromu Takahashi beat Bad Luck Fale & Yujiro Takahashi & Leo Tonga
- Hirooki Goto & Toru Yano beat Minoru Suzuki & Zack Sabre Jr. via count out
- Sho & Yoh beat Ricochet & Ryusuke Taguchi to win the IWGP jr. tag titles
- Lance Archer & Davey Boy Smith Jr. retained the IWGP tag titles in a three-way elimination match over War Machine and Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa 
- Kenny Omega & Cody & Marty Scurll beat Yoshi-Hashi & Baretta & Jado
- Kota Ibushi & Juice Robinson beat Hiroshi Tanahashi & Togi Makabe
- Will Ospreay beat Kushida to win the IWGP jr. title
- Tetsuya Naito pinned Tomohiro Ishii to retain his briefcase and earn a Tokyo Dome IWGP title match
- Kazuchika Okada pinned Evil to retain the IWGP title