Skip to main content

Dusty Classic winners to challenge for NXT tag titles at TakeOver


While it had been known since earlier this month that the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic would be returning, the official announcement on television revealed a couple of details about the tournament's schedule.

A video with William Regal announcing the 2018 Dusty Classic aired on NXT TV last night. In addition to noting that it will begin airing in two weeks, Regal revealed that the winners of the tournament will get an NXT Tag Team title shot against Bobby Fish & Kyle O'Reilly at TakeOver: New Orleans on April 7th.

Three of the first round matches for the eight-team tournament were taped in Atlanta earlier this month. Those were: The Authors of Pain vs. TM61, The Street Profits vs. Heavy Machinery, and SAnitY vs. Tino Sabbatelli & Riddick Moss. There will be one more first round match, with the tournament set to continue and possibly end at NXT's tapings at Full Sail University on March 7th.

That taping will finish building to TakeOver: New Orleans. Wesley Blake & Steve Cutler did a promo at the last tapings indicating that they'll be one of the two teams in the final first round match.

Finn Balor & Samoa Joe won the inaugural Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic in 2015, and The Authors of Pain won it in 2016. The tournament didn't take place last year.