Skip to main content

New Women's Tag Team Champions crowned on WWE SmackDown


Sasha Banks and Bayley have claimed the WWE Women's Tag Team Championships for a second time. 

Banks and Bayley defeated Alexa Bliss and Nikki Cross in the main event of tonight's SmackDown. Banks used a crucifix on Cross for the pinfall victory. Banks and Bayley join Cross and Bliss as the only two-time holders of the current iteration of WWE's Women's Tag titles. 

Cross and Bliss had been champions since WrestleMania 36, when they defeated The Kabuki Warriors to reclaim the titles. Cross and Bliss's first reign began with a win on the August 5, 2019 edition of Raw. 

Banks and Bayley were also the inaugural holders of the WWE Women's Tag Team Championship. Their first reign began with a win in an Elimination Chamber match on February 17, 2019 and ended at WrestleMania 35 on April 7, 2019. 

Bayley is also currently the SmackDown Women's Champion. This marks her fifth main roster championship win, having previously held the tag titles, the Raw Women's Championship and a prior SmackDown Women's title reign. 

For Banks, this marks her sixth main roster title. In addition to the two tag title reigns, Banks is a four-time Raw Women's Champion.