About Us  |   Contact

Daily pro wrestling history (02/20): Ricky Steamboat wins NWA Title; Bob Backlund wins WWWF Title


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Pat O'Connor wrestled AWA Champion Mr. M to a 1 hour time limit draw
- AWA Tag Team Champions Bob Geigel & Stan Kowalski beat Joe Scarpello & Tiny Mills
- Nikita Kalmikoff beat Roy Collins
- Duke Hoffman beat Jack Daniels


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Bill Miller & Bob Geigel defeated Pat O’Connor & Sonny Myers in three falls
- The Stomper defeated Fritz Von Erich via DQ


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon beat The Crusher
- Mighty Igor Vodik beat Larry Hennig dq
- Billy Red Cloud beat Bill Green
- Ivan Kalmikoff beat Jack Allen
- Bob Boyer drew Sid Freeman


Chicago, Illinois:
- AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon beat Verne Gagne dq
- Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher no contest Devils Duo, Angelo Poffo & Chris Markoff
- Wilbur Snyder beat El Mongol
- Jack Lanza drew Moose Cholak
- Mitsu Arakawa beat Reggie Parks


Tampa, Florida:
- Florida Title: Buddy Colt defeated Jack Brisco to win the title
- Lights Out Match: Mark Lewin defeated Hans Schmidt 
- Florida Tag Titles: Mike Graham & Kevin Sullivan defeated Bobby Shane & Gorgeous George, Jr. to win the titles
- Johnny Walker defeated Black Jack Slade 
- Great Malenko defeated John Wolfman Smith


Miami Beach Florida:
- Canadian Death Match: Dusty Rhodes defeated Jos LeDuc 
- Paul Jones defeated The Texan by dq
- Florida Title: Buddy Colt no contest Ron Fuller 
- Cowboy Bill Watts defeated The Jackal 
- Kevin Sullivan & Haystacks Calhoun defeated Skull Von Stroheim & Tony Romano 
- The Psycho defeated Tom Jones 


Kansas City, Kansas:
- Oki Shikina & Chuck O’Connor defeated Tony Russo & Omar Atlas
- Mike George defeated Bobby Jaggers
- Central States Women’s Champion Jean Antone defeated Betty Niccoli via DQ in two straight falls
- The Interns (w/ Dr. Ken Ramey) fought Lord Alfred Hayes & Bob Brown to a double-DQ
- Jerry Oates & Ted Oates defeated Terry Martin & Tommy Martin in three falls


St. Paul, Minnesota:
- Andre the Giant ddq AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel
- Ray Stevens beat Bobby Duncum
- Chris Taylor beat Super Destroyer dq
- Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Roger Kirby & Blackjack Lanza (sub Bobby Heenan)
- Pedro Morales beat Blackjack Lanza
- Angelo Mosca beat Bill Francis


Madison Square Garden: New York City:
- Bob Backlund defeated Superstar Billy Graham to win the WWWF World Heavyweight Title


St. Paul, Minnesota:
- AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel
- Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Jerry Blackwell & John Studd
- AWA Tag Team Champions Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura beat Tito Santana & Ray Stevens
- Brad Rheingans beat Steve Regal
- Buck Zumhofe beat Bill Howard
- Curt Hennig beat Kenny Jay


AWA/NWA Star Wars: Baltimore, Maryland:
- Cage match: Road Warriors beat Ivan Koloff & Nikita Koloff
- NWA Champion Ric Flair beat Dusty Rhodes dq
- Sgt. Slaughter beat AWA Champion Stan Hansen dq
- Midnight Express beat Rock & Roll Express
- Magnum TA beat Baron Von Raschke
- Nick Bockwinkel no contest Larry Zbyszko
- Tully Blanchard beat Jimmy Valiant
- Scott Hall beat Boris Zhukov


WCW Chi-Town Rumble: Chicago, Illinois:
- Mike Rotundo defeated Rick Steiner to win the NWA Television Title
- Lex Luger defeated Barry Windham to win the United States Title
- NWA World Tag Team Champions The Road Warriors defeated Steve Williams & Kevin Sullivan 
- Ricky Steamboat defeated Ric Flair to win the NWA World Heavyweight Title


Niagara Falls, New York:
- WWF Intercontinental Champion Rowdy Roddy Piper defeated WWF World Champion Ric Flair in a non-title, steel cage match


WWE No Way Out: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania:
- Rey Mysterio and Eddie Guerrero defeated WWE Tag Team Champions Doug and Danny Basham to win the titles
- Chavo Guerrero Jr. won the Cruiserweight Title in a gauntlet match
- John Cena defeated Kurt Angle


WWE Elimination Chamber: Oakland, California:
- Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel defeated WWE Tag Team champions Vladimir Kozlov & Santino Marella to win the titles
- WWE Champion the Miz retained the title over Jerry Lawler
- John Cena won the Raw Elimination Chamber over CM Punk, Randy Orton, R-Truth, John Morrison and Sheamus