About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 12): Chris Jericho wins WCW cruiserweight title, 1972 Super Bowl of Wrestling event

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1942 - In Des Moines, Iowa at Riverview Park, Orville Brown beat Wladek Zbyszko 2 falls to 0. It was reported that Zbyszko was unable to continue for the second fall after suffering a left knee injury. Tom Zaharias beat Gene Bowman in 2 out of 3 falls and Hans Schultz beat Johnny Seals.

1953 - At the fairgrounds in Avoca, Iowa; Joe Dusek vs. Sonny Myers and Hans Byers vs. Ronnie Etchison.

1965 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; Bob Geigel and Bob Brown beat Ronnie Etchison and Mongolian Stomper 2 falls to 1, Pat O’Connor beat The Raider and The Ox (Ox Baker) beat Frank Hickey

1967 - In Omaha, Nebraska; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Bob Orton by countout, Midwest Tag Team Champions Doug Gilbert & Reggie Parks beat Mistu Arakawa & Dale Lewis, Princess Little Cloud beat Laverne Bottoms and Reggie Parks beat Mitsu Arakawa

1972 - In St. Petersburg, Florida at Bayfront Center, Florida Champion Paul Jones beat NWA Champion Dory Funk Jr, Mr. Wrestling Tim Woods beat Zodiac in overtime to win Southern Title and unmasked him as Bob Orton Sr. Also, Jack Brisco beat Buddy Colt dq, Florida Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Ron & Robert Fuller, Bob Griffin beat Taurus and Mike George beat George McCreary. Attendance was 6,641; The "Super Bowl of Wrestling" was held in Cleveland, Ohio at Municipal Stadium. NWF World Tag Team Champions The Fargo Brothers defeated Wahoo McDaniel & Chief White Owl, United States Champion Bobo Brazil defeated Killer Tim Brooks, Ernie Ladd vs. Abdullah the Butcher ended in a double disqualification and NWF North American Champion Johnny Powers defeated Johnny Valentine.

1975 - Eddie Graham defeated Bob Orton Jr to win the US Jr. Heavyweight Title in Macon, Georgia.

1976 - In Kansas City; The Super Intern wrestled Baron Von Raschke, there was an 8-man Battle Royal and World Tag Team Champions Black Gordman & Great Goliath wrestled Harley Race & Mike George

1977 - In Denver, Colorado; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Pedro Morales, Angelo Mosca beat Larry Hennig dq, Super Destroyer beat Billy Robinson by countout, Greg Gagne beat Bobby Heenan and Jim Brunzell drew Roger Kirby. Attendance was 4,316

1977 - In St. Louis, Missouri, Dick Slater defeated Missouri State Champion Jack Brisco to win the title. Also on the card, WWWF champion Superstar Graham defeated Jimmy Valiant and NWA World champion Harley Race fought Dory Funk Jr. to a draw.

1982 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Rick Martel & Dino Bravo by countout, Jesse Ventura & Bobby Duncum & Ken Patera beat Baron Von Raschke & Otto Wanz & Larry Hennig, Ray Stevens & Pat Patterson beat Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan by dq and Brad Rheingans & Buck Zumhofe beat Sgt Jacques Goulet & Bobby Heenan. Attendance was 8,848

1983 - In Denver, Colorado; AWA Tag Team Champions Ken Patera & Jerry Blackwell beat Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Brad Rheingans, Jim Brunzell beat Sheik Adnan, Rick Martel beat Mr. Saito by dq and David Shults beat Buck Zumhofe

1986 - In Asbury Park, New Jersey; AWA Tag Team Champions Buddy Rose & Doug Somers beat Midnight Rockers, In a Non Title match,  Larry Zbyszko beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel, Colonel DeBeers beat Scott Hall by dq and Jimmy Snuka beat Boris Zhukov

1991 - Jerry Lawler defeated Awesome Kong (the man) in Memphis, Tennessee to win the USWA Unified Heavyweight Title

1992 - Johnny Hot Body defeated Larry Winters in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to become the first ECW Television Champion; Masahiro Chono defeated Rick Rude in the finals of New Japan's G1 Climax tournament at Sumo Hall in Tokyo, Japan. Chono also won the NWA World Heavyweight Title in the match. Also on the card, IWGP Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated the Great Muta & Kensuke Sasaki and The Pegasus Kid (Chris Benoit) pinned Jushin Liger.

1997 - Chris Jericho defeated Alex Wright for the WCW Cruiserweight Title in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

2007 - At the Hardcore Justice PPV, Kurt Angle defeated Samoa Joe to win the TNA X Division and Tag Team Titles and the Steiner Brothers defeated Team 3-D.

2010 - Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne to win the TNA Knockouts Title and in a non title match, Kurt Angle defeated TV Champion AJ Styles.

2012 - At the TNA Hardcore Justice PPV; Madison Rayne defeated Miss Tessmacher to win the Knockouts title. Also, Kenny King retained the TNA X Division Title over Zema Ion and Austin Aires defeated Bobby Roode to retain the TNA World Title.