About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 16): AWA is born in Minneapolis, Road Warriors vs. Freebirds, Kurt Angle keeps TNA title

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1933 - In Harlan, Iowa; Earl Wampler beat Joe Dusek 2 falls to 1

1946 - Ted Cox defeated Dave Levin in Houston to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title.

1960 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; Verne Gagne was awarded the first ever AWA World Heavyweight Champion.  Pat O'Connor, the defending NWA World Heavyweight Champion, was given 90 days to defend against number one contender Gagne in a match to determine the AWA World Champion.  The match never happened, and Gagne was given the title. AWA Tag Team Champions Tiny Mills & Stan Kowalski went to a no contest Verne Gagne & Joe Scarpello. Also, Gene Kiniski beat Man Mountain Campbell, Bob Geigel beat George Grant and Len Montana beat John Swenski. Attendance was 6,213. This was the first AWA event promoted by Verne Gagne. 

1973 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Superstar Billy Graham. (After the match, Graham along with Ivan Koloff attacked Gagne and Verne ended up being stretchered out of the Arena). Also, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Red Bastien & Wahoo McDaniel in 2 out of 3 falls. US Women's Champion Betty Niccoli beat Jean Antone, Billy Robinson beat Larry Heiniemi, Geoff Portz beat Vic Rossitani, Greg Gagne beat Bill Crouch and George Gordienko beat Moose Morowski. Attendance was 7,946

1974 - Mr. Wrestling #2 defeated Super A (Austin Idol) in a mask vs. mask match in Atlanta, Georgia.

1975 - In Chicago, Illinois; Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens to win the AWA tag team title, Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant drew Wilbur Snyder & Billy Robinson, Ox Baker beat Ivan Putski, Rene Goulet beat Jim Brunzell, Soldier Lebeouf beat Bobby Bold Eagle and  Chuck O'Connor (Big John Studd) beat Bill White. Attendance was 12,000 (sellout)

1985 - In East Rutherford, NJ at the Meadowlands; In a Jim Crocket Promotions/AWA Star Wars event; Sgt. Slaughter beat NWA Champion Ric Flair dq, Paul Ellering & Road Warriors beat Fabulous Freebirds Michael Hayes & Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts dq, AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Larry Zbyszko, Greg Gagne & Curt Hennig beat Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens, Steve Regal beat Buck Zumhofe, Brad Rheingans beat Boris Zhukov dq and Baron Von Raschke beat Davey G. Attendance was 7,000

1988 - In Louisville, Kentucky; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler beat Kerry Von Erich and the RPMs beat Scott Steiner & Billy Travis. Attendance was 2,000

1992 - The Great Muta (Keiji Mutoh) defeated Riki Choshu in Fukuoka, Japan to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title.

1993 - Jimmy Del Ray defeated Ricky Morton to win the vacant Smokey Mountain Wrestling "Beat The Champ" Television Title.

2003 - Justin Credible defeated Terry Funk for the 3PW Heavyweight Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

2009 - Samoa Joe defeated Homicide to win the TNA X-Division Title at the Hard Justice PPV in Orlando, Florida. Also, Kurt Angle retained the TNA Championship over Sting and Matt Morgan.