About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 18): Brock Lesnar vs. CM Punk, Daniel Bryan vs. John Cena at WWE SummerSlam 2014

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1935 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Louis Thesz beat Sol Slagel

1944 - Lou Thesz defeated Ernie Dusek to win the Texas Heavyweight Championship in Houston, Texas.

1949 - Dave Levin defeated George Bollas in Toledo, Ohio for the Jack Pfeffer-promoted World Heavyweight Title

1951 - Frenchy Roy defeated Dale Haddock in Oregon to win the Pacific Coast Junior Heavyweight Title.

1960 - Ilio DiPaolo and Whipper Billy Watson defeated Doc and Mike Gallagher in Toronto, Ontario to win the NWA Canadian Open Tag Team Title

1961 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada in a Texas Death match; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Hard Boiled Haggerty, Mr. M beat Roy McClarty and Gene Kiniski beat Tiny Mills

1966 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Pat O’Connor defeated Carlos Colon, Sonny Myers defeated Bulldog Plechas, Bob Brown defeated Jack Donovan and Bob Geigel defeated The Viking in three falls

1970 - Bill Dromo and Alberto Torres defeated Buddy Colt and Karl Von Stroheim in Macon, Georgia for the NWA Macon Tag Team Title.

1971 - Rip Tyler defeated Ken Lucas in the finals of a 17-man tag team match in Mobile, Alabama to win the vacant City of Mobile Heavyweight Title.

1973 - In Milwaukee; The Crusher & Wahoo McDaniel beat Superstar Billy Graham & Ivan Koloff in 2 of 3 falls, Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson dq, Red Bastien beat Nick Bockwinkel, Larry Heiniemi drew Geoff Portz, Greg Gagne beat Vic Rossitani and Ric Flair beat Billy Red Cloud. Attendance was 8,747

1978 - Mil Máscaras defeated The Destroyer in Kagoshima, Japan to win the AJPW PWF United States Heavyweight Title; The Mongolian Stomper won the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight Title
in Knoxville, Tennessee, by defeating Robert Fuller

1982 - Mike Sharpe defeated Killer Khan for the Mid-South Louisiana Heavyweight Title in Shreveport, Louisiana,

1983 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Mad Dog Vachon dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Ken Patera & Jerry Blackwell beat Baron Von Raschke & Wahoo McDaniel, Hulk Hogan beat Mr. Saito dq, Jim Brunzell no contest David Shults, Greg Gagne beat Blackjack Lanza and Rick Martel beat Bill White. Attendance was 5,916

1984 - Tom Prichard and Brett Sawyer won the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title in Portland, Oregon, by defeating Mr. Ebony (Tom Jones) and Mike Miller.

1985 - In Chicago, Illinois in a Boot Camp match; Sgt. Slaughter & Greg Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens, NWA Champion Ric Flair beat Billy Robinson, Fabulous Freebirds Michael Hayes & Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts beat Rick Martel & Jerry Blackwell & Larry Hennig dq, Brad Rheingans beat Boris Zhukov dq, Bill Irwin beat Baron Von Raschke, Steve Regal beat Buck Zumhofe, Curt Hennig drew Larry Zbyszko and Scott Irwin beat Rob Rechsteiner (Rick Steiner). Attendance was 6000

1988 - Leo Burke defeated Rip Rogers for the Grand Prix Wrestling International Heavyweight Title in Halifax, Nova Scotia

1989 - Sumo Hara (Tatsumi Kitahara) and Benkei (Kensuke) Sasaki defeated Bob and Kerry Brown for the Stampede International Tag Team Title in Calgary, Alberta; Eric Embry defeated P.Y. Chu-Hi in Dallas, Texas to win the USWA Texas Heavyweight Title.

1990 - In Wall, New Jersey; (Last AWA Verne Gagne promoted event); Brian Blair beat AWA Champion Larry Zbyszko dq, Ken Patera double count out Ivan Koloff and Wahoo McDaniel beat Manny Fernandez count out

1991 - Cien Caras defeats Konnan for the CMLL World Heavyweight Title in Monterrey, Mexico.

1993 - At the Clash of the Champions in Daytona Beach, Florida; Ricky Steamboat pinned WCW World Television Champion Paul Orndorff to win the title. Arn Anderson and Paul Roma defeated NWA and WCW World Tag Team Champions Steve Austin and Lord Steven Regal (subbing for the injured Brian Pillman) (with Sir William) to win the titles and Big Van Vader defeated Davey Boy Smith to retain the WCW World Title.

1994 - Super Vader defeats Nobuhiko Takada in the finals of the Best of the World Tournament in Tokyo, Japan to win the UWFI Heavyweight Title.

1996 - At SummerSlam in Cleveland, Ohio; Mankind defeated The Undertaker in a Boiler Room Brawl and WWF Champion Shawn Michaels (with Jose Lothario) defeated Vader (with Jim Cornette) to retain the title.

2011 - During an edition of Impact Wrestling; Mexican Americans defeated Beer Money to win the TNA Tag Team Titles.

2013 - At SummerSlam in Los Angeles, California; Brock Lesnar defeated CM Punk in a No DQ Match, Daniel Bryan defeated John Cena in a match for the WWE Title and Randy Orton cashed in his Money in the Bank briefcase and defeated Daniel Bryan to win the WWE Title.