About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history (August 19): Rock wins WCW World title, Edge upsets Lance Storm for I-C gold

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver

1942 - Des Moines, Iowa; At Riverview Park, Iowa State Heavyweight Champion Gene Bowman beat Ken Fenelon 2 out of 3 falls, Emil Dusek beat Hans Schultz and Joe Dusek defeated Bad Boy Brown. Promoter was Pinkie George

1965 - Kansas City, Kansas at Memorial Hall, Bob Geigel and Bob Brown beat Sonny Myers and Mongolian Stomper 2 falls to 1, Dick the Bruiser beat Jerry Miller, The Ox beat Jim Grabmire and Ronnie Etchison drew Bulldog Plechas

1966 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin in a No dq, non title match; Crusher beat AWA Champion
Mad Dog Vachon, Verne Gagne beat The Alaskan, Wilbur Snyder beat Stan Kowalski, Billy Red Cloud drew Chris Markoff and Killer Kowalski beat Eddie Sharkey. Attendance
was 3,109

1972 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens in 2 out of 3 falls (No title change because
the wrong man (Stevens) was pinned by Crusher in the 3rd fall). Also, Dusty Rhodes beat Wahoo McDaniel dq, Ivan Koloff beat Wilbur Snyder, Billy Robinson beat Hans Hermann, Rene Goulet beat Ramon Torres and Don Muraco beat Big K. Attendance was 11,951

1973 - Green Bay, Wisconsin in a Saloon Match; The Crusher beat Superstar Billy Graham, Wahoo McDaniel beat Ivan Koloff, Red Bastien & Ken Patera beat Larry Heiniemi & Buddy Wolff on a 3rd fall dq and Greg Gagne beat Vic Rositanni. Attendance was 6,488

1976 – Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; John Foley defeated Hubert Gallant via DQ, Akio Sato defeated Wayne Hammer, The Super Intern defeated Joe Palardy, Chief Thundercloud defeated Bob Brown, World Tag Team Champions Black Gordman & Great Goliath fought Rick Gibson & Skip Young to a 30 minute draw and Harley Race
defeated Dory Funk, Jr. via DQ

1984 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher no contest Road Warriors, Nick Bockwinkel beat Tony Atlas, Jim Brunzell beat Sheik Adnan, Bobby Heenan beat Stan Lane, Billy Robinson beat Steve Regal and Curt Hennig beat Larry Zbyszko. Attendance was 4,369

1990 - Riki Choshu defeated Big Van Vader to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title in Tokyo, Japan.

1999 - Lenny Lane defeated Rey Mysterio Jr. to win the WCW CruiserweightTitle in Lubbock, Texas

2001 - Edge defeated Lance Storm to win the Intercontinental Title at SummerSlam in San Jose, California. Also, the Rock defeated Booker T to win the WCW World Title and The Undertaker and Kane defeated Kanyon and Dallas Page to win the WWF Tag Team Titles in a steel cage.

2012- At SummerSlam, Antonio Cesaro defeated Santino Marella to win the United States Title, Brock Lesnar defeated Triple H, and WWE Champion CM Punk retained the title over The Big Show and John Cena.