About Us  |   Contact

On this day in pro wrestling history: Ron Simmons makes history by winning WCW World title

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1968 - In Milwaukee; Dr. X beat Dick the Bruiser, The Crusher beat Mitsu Arakawa and Bill Watts beat Dutch Savage

1969 - In Milwaukee; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Billy Red Lyons, In a No dq match, AWA Tag Team Champions Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon, Red Bastien beat Dr. X and Bill Watts beat Angelo Poffo. Attendance was, 8,709.

1972 - In Miami, Florida; In a match where the winner would meet NWA Champion Dory Funk Jr, Zodiac beat Mr Wrestling Tim Woods, Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Hiro Matsuda & Ron Fuller and Buddy Colt beat Louie Tillet dq (sub Johnny Walker)

1975 - Jose Rivera & Ciclon defeated Pierre & Michael Martel in Caguas, Puerto Rico for the WWC North American Tag Team Title

1978 - In Honolulu, Hawaii at Blaisdell Center Arena; In a No dq 60:00 Time Limit match, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel defeated Tor Kamata, In World Light Heavyweight Title Match, Chavo Guerrero (c) wrestleed Tony Rocco, Hawaiian Tag Team Champions Steve Strong & John Tolos vs Mr Fuji & Mystery Partner and John Studd vs Don Muraco

1980 - In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Nick Bockwinkel beat Dino Bravo dq, The Crusher no contest Jerry Blackwell, Jesse Ventura beat Greg Gagne, John Studd beat Steve Olsonoski and Tito Santana drew Adrian Adonis. Attendance was 4,137

1985 - Harley Race defeated Jerry Blackwell in St. Louis, Missouri for the NWA Missouri Heavyweight Title; In Denver, Colorado; In a Boot Camp match, Sgt Slaughter & Greg Gagne beat Nick Bockwinkel & Larry Zbyszko, Terry Gordy & Michael Hayes & Ray Stevens beat Blackjack Lanza & Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher, Brad Rheingans beat Boris Zhukov and Bill Irwin beat Steve O

1992 - Ron Simmons defeated Big Van Vader in Baltimore, Maryland to win the WCW World Heavyweight Title.

1993 - Luna Vachon defeated Miss Texas (Jacqueline) in Memphis, Tennessee for the USWA Heavyweight Title,

1999 - D Lo Brown defeated Jeff Jarrett for the WWF Intercontinental Title.