Skip to main content

New KOPW champion crowned at NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam


A new champion was crowned at today's NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome night one event. 

Toru Yano regained the provisional KOPW 2021 title, defeating Chase Owens in 28:03 in a No-DQ I Quit match. This is the second time that Yano has claimed the provisional KOPW 2021. 

Owens won a New Japan Ranbo at Wrestle Grand Slam in Tokyo Dome on July 25 to take the title away from Yano. Yano was the first to hold the provisional title in 2021, winning it on January 5 at Wrestle Kingdom 15 in a four-way that also involved Owens, BUSHI and Bad Luck Fale. 

Yano was the first and only holder of the KOPW title in 2020. He won the original provisional title at Summer Struggle in a tournament final four-way over Kazuchika Okada, SANADA and El Desperado. He cemented himself as the official KOPW 2020 by defeating Fale in a bodyslam or no corner pads match. 

Today's match was the second Yano vs. Owens KOPW match on a major NJPW show this year. The two also met at Castle Attack in a Yano-style Texas strap match on February 27.