Skip to main content

Stipulations set for two NJPW New Beginning in Nagoya matches


Stipulations have been added to two TenCozy vs. United Empire singles matches for NJPW's The New Beginning in Nagoya.

Satoshi Kojima vs. Will Ospreay at The New Beginning in Nagoya this Saturday will now be a no disqualification match. Hiroyoshi Tenzan vs. The Great O-Khan now has a stipulation where the loser will no longer be able to use the Mongolian chop.

Kojima & Tenzan have faced Ospreay & The Great O-Khan at NJPW's last three Road to The New Beginning shows, with the matches ending in two no contests and a disqualification.

NJPW wrote about the stipulations for Kojima vs. Ospreay and Tenzan vs. The Great O-Khan:

After controversial collisions between TenCozy and the UNITED EMPIRE side of Will Ospreay and Great-O-Khan this week, stipulations have been added that will change the shape of New Beginning in Nagoya on January 30. 

First, Hiroyoshi Tenzan and Great-O-Khan will meet in the third match of the night. Tenzan has been incensed at Great-O-Khan’s use of his Mongolian Chops since O-Khan returned from excursion, and the Dominator O-Khan has no respect for the Third Generation legend. Both parties have now agreed that the loser of this match must retire the Mongolian Chop for good. Who will have to stop the chop in Nagoya?

Then, as Kojima and Ospreay have escalated in violence over the last few nights, Korakuen Hall Monday saw tables added to the mix, as each looked to put the other through the wood. After an intense exchange on the microphone, this is now officially a No Disqualification match. With nothing to hold either man back, what carnage will unfold in Aichi? 

The New Beginning in Nagoya will start at 3:30 a.m. Eastern time on Saturday. Here's the full card for the show:

  • NEVER Openweight Champion Shingo Takagi defends against Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Satoshi Kojima vs. Will Ospreay in a no DQ match
  • Hiroyoshi Tenzan vs, The Great O-Khan (loser must stop using the Mongolian chop)
  • Kota Ibushi, Tomoaki Honma, SHO & Master Wato vs. SANADA, Tetsuya Naito, Hiromu Takahashi & BUSHI
  • Kazuchika Okada & Toru Yano vs. EVIL & Yujiro Takahashi