Skip to main content

Daily pro wrestling history (12/06): Tracy Smothers wins SMW TV Title

tracy smothers.jpg


Des Moines, Iowa:
- American Heavyweight Champion Fred Beell defeated Charles Hackenschmidt


Kansas City, Kansas:
- The Dusek Brothers (Ernie and Joe Dusek) beat the Becker Brothers (Bobby and George) to become the undisputed World Tag Team champions winning a 2 out of 3 fall contest
- Verne Gagne beat Pat Fraley 
- Bob McCune defeated Kit Fox 
- George Scott beat Tom Zaharias by dq


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff beat Kinji Shibuya & Mitsu Arakawa
- Tim Geohagen beat Dave Jons 
- Red Bastien drew Herb Schiff (Herb Freeman) 


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- Gene Kiniski no contest Wilbur Snyder
- AWA Tag Team Champions Hard Boiled Haggerty & Len Montana beat Joe Scarpello & Nick Roberts
- Roy McClarty drew Jim Hady
- Bob Geigel beat Guy Hill


Atlanta, Georgia:
- The Professional defeated Johnny Valentine to win the NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title 


Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada:
- The Crusher beat Superstar Billy Graham on a reverse decision dq 
- AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Billy Robinson & Geoff Portz in 2 out of 3 falls
- Ric Flair beat Dave Muir


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
- AWA Tag Team Champions Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens
- Larry Hennig beat Jimmy Valiant
- Pampero Firpo no contest Johnny Valiant
- Jos Leduc beat Don Wade
- Bobby Duncum & Bobby Heenan beat Khosrow Vaziri & Kenny Jay


Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada:
- Canadian Heavyweight Title Match: Canadian Champion Dino Bravo beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel
- AWA Tag Team Champions Verne Gagne & Mad Dog Vachon beat Super Destroyer Mark II & Super Destroyer Mark III
- Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura beat Steve Olsonoski & Angelo Mosca dq
- Greg Gagne beat Bob Brown Jr (Kerry Brown)
- Ricky Hunter beat Ron Ritchie
- Peter Sandor Szabo beat Buck Zumhofe


Chicago, Illinois:
- Dick The Bruiser beat Ernie Ladd
- Jerry Blackwell & John Studd beat Mad Dog Vachon & The Crusher
- Spike Huber no contest King Kong Brody
- Wilbur Snyder beat Ali Hassan
- Jerry Graham Jr beat Chief Bobby Bold Eagle

Atlanta, Georgia:

- The Mongolian Stomper defeated Jack Brisco to win the NWA Georgia National Title 


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
- Gama Singh defeated Bruce Hart to win the Stampede British Commonwealth Mid-Heavyweight Title


Tokyo, Japan:
- Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu won the All Japan World Tag Team Title by winning the annual Real World Tag League tournament by defeating Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu to win the tournament

Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
- Candi Devine defeated Judy Martin for the AWA Women's World Title
- AWA Champion Larry Zbyzsko beat Sgt. Slaughter dq
- Paul Diamond beat Jonnie Stewart


Jefferson, North Carolina:
- Tracy Smothers defeated Chris Candido to win the SMW "Beat The Champ" Television Title


London, England:
- WWF World Tag Team Champions The New Age Outlaws defeated D'Lo Brown & Mark Henry
- WWF World Heavyweight Champion The Rock defeated X-Pac via disqualification
- Steve Austin defeated Kane, Mankind and The Undertaker in a Four Way match


Glasgow, Scotland:
- Lex Luger defeated Sting to win the World Wrestling All-Stars World Heavyweight Title (belt had been vacated by Scott Steiner)


- Devon defeated Samoa Joe to win the TNA TV Title


  • 1958 - Sammy Berg & Enrique Torres beat Mike & Ben Sharpe (West Palm Beach)
  • 1960 - Don Curtis drew Eddie Graham to retain the Southern title (Orlando)
  • 1963 - Lou Thesz retained the NWA title going to a no contest with Eddie Graham before 6,122 fans (Jacksonville)
  • 1964 - Fred Blassie beat Abe Jacobs (Tampa)
  • 1966 - Hiro Matsuda & Taki Yamaguchi beat Eddie Graham & Sammy Steamboat (Fort Myers)
  • 1966 - The Infernos & J.C Dykes beat Don Curtis & Lester Welch & Jose Lothario in a Texas death match after eight falls (Orlando)
  • 1967 - Lorenzo Parente & Paul DeMarco beat The Red Demons via DQ (Fort Myers)
  • 1967 - Joe Scarpa (Chief Jay Strongbow) beat Johnny Valentine to win the Florida title (Tampa)
  • 1972 - Jack & Jerry Brisco beat Dory Funk Jr. & Terry Funk in a lights out match when Jerry pinned world champion Dory (Tampa)
  • 1972 - Dick Slater beat Bob Orton Sr. (Fort Myers)
  • 1973 - Eddie Graham beat Buddy Colt and Dusty Rhodes beat Jos LeDuc via DQ (Miami Beach)
  • 1974 - Cowboy Bill Watts beat Dusty Rhodes to win the Florida title and Bob Armstrong & Tony Parisi beat Toru Tanaka & Pak Song (Jacksonville)
  • 1978 - Pak Song & Mr. Uganda (Cyclone Negro) beat Dusty Rhodes & Jos LeDuc (Tampa)
  • 1979 - Dusty Rhodes beat Bad Leroy Brown (Miami  Beach)
  • 1984 - Khrusher Khrushchev & Jim Neidhart retained U.S. tag titles over Pez Whatley & Sweet Brown Sugar (Skip Young) (Miami Beach)


  • 1991 - Terry Gordy & Steve Williams won the Real World Tag League tournament by one point over Stan Hansen & Danny Spivey
  • 1991 - Misterioso beat Fuerza Guerrera in Mexico City to win the NWA welterweight title
  • 1993 - Manami Toyota & Toshiyo Yamada beat Dynamite Kansai & Mayumi Ozaki in Tokyo to win the WWWA tag team titles in an incredible match
  • 1996 - Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue beat Mitsuharu Misawa & Jun Akiyama to win the Real World Tag League tournament
  • 1999 - Jushin Liger beat Psicosis in Milwaukee to win the IWGP jr. title
  • 2002 - Taiyo Kea & Satoshi Kojima beat Shinjiro Otani & Masato Tanaka in Tokyo to win the Real World Tag League tournament
  • 2003 - Billy Ken Kid & Tiger Mask beat Jushin Liger & Takehiro Murahama in Osaka to win the Osaka Pro tag title
  • 2009 - Takeshi Rikio & Mohammed Yone beat Kensuke Sasaki & Takeshi Morishima in Tokyo to win the GHC tag titles
  • 2009 - Keiji Muto & Masakatsu Funaki beat Suwama & Masayuki Kono in Tokyo to win the Real World Tag League tournament
  • 2010 - Mesias beat Zorro to win the vacant AAA heavyweight title and then Dr. Wagner Jr. beat Mesias to win that title in Veracruz
  • 2014 - Atsushi Kotoge beat Daisuke Harada in Tokyo to win the GHC jr. title
  • 2014 - Jun Akiyama & Takao Omori beat Go Shiozaki & Kento Miyahara to win the Real World Tag League tournament