Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 2): Hogan beats Inoki to win 1st IWGP tourney, HTM's Intercontinental title reign begins

By Brian Hoops,

1949 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Joe Pazandak beat Roy Graham in 2 out of 3 falls to become the number one contender to the NWA World title. Also, Sonny Myers beat Abe Kashey

1960 - Dan Miller and Frank Valois defeated Rikidozan and Michiaki Yoshimura to win the JWA All Asian Tag Team Title in Osaka, Japan; Bob Ellis defeated Dick the Bruiser in Windsor, Ontario to win the Detroit version of the NWA United States Heavyweight Title

1962 - Dick the Bruiser defeated Wilbur Snyder in Detroit, Michigan to win the Detroit version of the NWA United States Heavyweight Title; At the Armory in St. Paul; Mr. M & Bob Geigel beat Joe Scarpello & Doug Gilbert and Larry Hennig beat Gene Anderson.

1967 - In Chicago; The Devils Duo (Angelo Poffo & Chris Markoff) beat Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher, Wilbur Snyder drew Johnny Powers and Johnny Valentine no contest with Earl Maynard.

1970 - In Chicago; Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat Chain Gang (Jim & Jack Dillinger), Baron Von Raschke beat Edouard Carpentier, Wilbur Snyder beat Dr X via dq and Dr Bill Miller beat Pepper Gomez. Attendance was 12,000.

1978 - El Faraon defeated Alfonso Dantes for the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1979 - Dennis Condrey defeated Ron Garfield to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee; In Milwaukee, Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher beat Nick Bockwinkel & Bobby Duncum, Super Destroyer Mark II beat Mad Dog Vachon via count out and Greg Gagne beat Pat Patterson. Attendance was 4,700; The Spoiler was awarded the WCCW American Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas when champion Wahoo McDaniel was unable to compete due to injury.

1980 - Matt Borne & Buzz Sawyer defeated Jimmy Snuka & The Iron Sheik in Greenville, South Carolina in a tournament final to win the Mid-Atlantic Tag Team Title; Dennis Condrey defeated Gorgeous George Jr. in Chattanooga, Tennessee to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title; Ken Lucas and Ricky Morton defeated Gypsy Joe and Skull Murphy for the AWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1983 - At the finals of the first IWGP tournament, Hulk Hogan defeated Antonio Inoki by countout to win the tournament. At the same event, Tiger Mask won the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title, defeating Kuniaki Kobayahi for the vacant title; Harley Race defeated Dewey Robertson in Kansas City, Missouri for the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title. The title would be vacated eight days later when Race won the NWA World Heavyweight Title in St. Louis, Missouri from Ric Flair.

1987 - The Honky Tonk Man defeated Ricky Steamboat to win the WWF Intercontinental Title in Buffalo, New York.

1990 - El Dandy defeated Angel Azteca to win the NWA World Middleweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico; Tony Anthony and Tom Burton defeated the Southern Rockers' (Rex King and Steve Doll) for the USWA Tag Team Title by defeating King in a handicap match in Memphis, Tennessee.

1993 - The Patriot (Del Wilkes) and The Eagle (George Hines) defeated Kenta Kobashi and Tsuyoshi Kikuchi for the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles in Koyama, Japan.

2004 - In Nashville, Tennessee Jeff Jarrett defeated champion Ron Killings, A.J. Styles, Raven and Chris Harris in the first-ever King of the Mountain match to win the NWA World Heavyweight Title

2005 - In Winnipeg, Manitoba, Kenny Omega defeated Chris Sabin in the finals of Premier Championship Wrestling's Premier Cup, to become the first NWA Canadian X Division Champion