Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (June 9): first UWF champion crowned, Strangler Lewis wins NY state gold, lots of Nick Bockwinkel matches

By Brian Hoops,

1932 - Ed "Strangler" Lewis defeated Dick Shikat for the New York State Athletic Commission version of the World Heavyweight Title.

1935 - In Waterloo, Iowa; Joe Dusek went to a drew with Lou Plummer

1938 - The Masked Marvel (Ted Cox) defeated Vic Christy in Toronto, Ontario to win the Montreal World Heavyweight Title

1943 - In Des Moines, Iowa; Jim Londos defeated Tom Zaharias 2 falls to 0, also, Junior Heavyweight Champion Ken Fenelon beat Bill Dusen.

1945 - In Wichita, Kansas; World Heavyweight Champion Orville Brown beat Lord Albert Mills in a 2 out of 3 falls match and Ray Eckert defeated Vic Holbrook.

1949 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, NWA World Champion Orville Brown and Joe Pazandak wrestled to a draw at the midnight closing hour 1 fall a piece (Pazandak remained undefeated locally). Also, Fred Blassie and Herman Von Doyle went to a draw.

1960 - Nick Roberts and Art Nelson defeated Dory Funk, Sr. and Bob Geigel to win the Amarillo version of the NWA North American Heavyweight Title in Amarillo, Texas; At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Central States Heavyweight Champion Thor Hagen beat Ernie Dusek, Central States Women’s Champion Lorraine Johnson defeated Judy Glover in 2 out of 3 falls, Bob Orton defeated Emil Dusek by DQ and Gory Guerrero and Doug Scott wrestled to a draw.

1961 - In a Texas Death Match in Winnipeg; Hard Boiled Haggerty & Gene Kiniski beat Whipper Billy Watson & Wilbur Snyder in 2 out of 3 falls. Also, Bob Geigel beat Tony Baillargeon and Jack Pesek beat Stan Kowalski.

1964 - Tojo Yamamoto and Alex Perez defeated Jackie and Don Fargo for the Mid-America version of the NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Nashville, Tennessee.

1967 - Kim Il (Kintaro Ohki) defeated Mark Lewin in Seoul, South Korea to win the Los Angeles-based World Wrestling Association's World Heavyweight Title; Sonny Myers won NWA Central States Heavyweight Title, defeating The Viking in St. Joseph, Missouri.

1969 - Dutch Savage and Bob Brown defeated Dean Higuchi and Earl Maynard in Vancouver, British Columbia for the Vancouver version of the NWA Canadian Tag Team Title; Johnny Walker and The Sundown Kid defeated Tojo Yamamoto and Johnny Long to win the Mid-America version of the NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Nashville, Tennessee.

1973 - Mr. Wrestling II and Bob Orton, Jr. defeated the Super Infernos (Doug Gilbert and Don Smith) to win the NWA Georgia Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia; In Chicago, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Dick the Bruiser & Wahoo McDaniel, Billy Robinson beat Dick Murdoch and Jim Brunzell beat Ric Flair.

1977 - In Winnipeg; Ray Stevens beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel via dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum beat Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell and Super Destroyer beat Pedro Morales.

1978 - Angelo Mosca won a tournament final for the vacant NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1979 - At Veterans Auditorium in Des Moines, Bill Irwin defeated Wayne Rogers, Bob Brown fought Jerry Brown to a double-DQ, In an Indian Strap Match, Frank Hill defeated Bob Sweetan and World Heavyweight Champion Harley Race defeated The Super Destroyer Mark II (Sgt. Slaughter) (w/ Lord Alfred Hayes) via DQ.

1980 - At the Civic Center in Omaha, Nebraska; Mad Dog Vachon beat Adrian Adonis in a Falls Count Anywhere match. Also, Jerry Blackwell double count out with Dino Bravo, Bobby Heenan beat Lord Alfred Hayes in a Loser Leaves Town match and Greg Gagne & Steve Olsonoski beat Jesse Ventura & Super Destroyer Mark II

1985 - In St. Paul, Minnesota; Michael Hayes beat AWA Champion Rick Martel (no title change and decision later reversed). Also,
Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Greg Gagne & Steve Olsonoski (sub Jim Brunzell) and Fabulous Freebirds Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts beat Larry Hennig & Curt Hennig.

1986 - Kendall Windham is awarded the Florida State Heavyweight Title he had lost to the White Ninja (Keiji Mutoh, Great Muta) as it was determined that the Ninja had used "illegal karate moves" to win the match.

1989 - In Dallas, Texas, Jeff Jarrett and Mil Mascaras defeated Super Zodiac II and Cactus Jack to win the World Class Tag Team Title; Bob and Kerry Brown defeated Chris Benoit and Biff Wellington for the Stampede International Tag Team Title in Calgary, Alberta.

1991 - In Palmetto, Florida; Steve Williams defeated Bam Bam Bigelow to become the first UWF (Herb Abrams) Television Champion. Also, Rockin' Robin defeated Candi Divine to become the first UWF Women's Champion

1995 - Toshiaki Kawada and Akira Taue won the second AJPW Unified World Tag Team Title, defeating Mitsuharu Misawa and Kenta Kobashi in Tokyo, Japan

1997 - During an edition of Monday Nitro from Boston, Mass; Jeff Jarrett won the WCW United States Heavyweight Title from Dean Malenko.

1999 - Johnny Ace and Bart Gunn defeated Kenta Kobashi and Jun Akiyama in Sendai, Japan for the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Title.

2000 - Toshiaki Kawada and Akira Taue defeated Takao Omori and Yoshihiro Takayama in Tokyo, Japan, to win the vacant AJPW Unified World Tag Team Title

2001 - CM Punk defeated Mark Wolf to win the IWA Mid-South Light Heavyweight Title in Charlestown, Indiana

2004 - In Nashville, Tennessee; AJ Styles defeated Frankie Kazarian to win the TNA X Division Title.