Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history (May 11): Von Erichs vs. Verne & Don Leo Jonathan, Shane Douglas vs. 2 Cold Scorpio

By Brian Hoops,

1944 - Frankie Talaber defeated The Great Mephisto for the Midwest Wrestling Association World Junior Heavyweight Title in Columbus, Ohio

1945 - Jules Strongbow defeated Hans Schnable to win the Texas Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas.

1949 - Martino Angelo defeated Billy Fox in Columbus, Ohio for the MWA World Junior Heavyweight Title

1954 - Rocky Brown and Leo Nomellini defeated Ben and Mike Sharpe to win the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in San Francisco, California

1962 - Czaya Nandor and Sandor Kovacs defeated Aldo Bogni and Alexis Bruga to win the Stampede International Tag Team Title in Calgary, Alberta.

1963 - in Omaha, Nebraska; Fritz & Waldo Von Erich beat Verne Gagne & Don Leo Jonathan

1967 - The Blue Infernos defeated Billy and Jimmy Hines for the Mid-America NWA World Tag Team Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee

1968 - In Minneapolis, Minnesota; Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Verne Gagne & Bill Watts

1972 - Don and Johnny (Greg Valentine) Fargo defeated Dominic DeNucci and Tony Parisi to win the National Wrestling Federation Tag Team Title in Cleveland, Ohio.

1976 - The Executioners (Killer Kowalski and Big John Studd under masks) defeated Louis Cerdan and Tony Parisi for the WWWF World Tag Team Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

1976 - Killer Karl Kox and Bob Sweetan defeated Ted DiBiase and Dick Murdoch for the Tri-State NWA United States Tag Team Title in Shreveport, Louisiana.

1978 - Giant Baba and Jumbo Tsuruta won the NWA International Tag Team Title in Osaka, Japan, defeating Kim Duk and Kintaro Ohki

1979 - In Omaha, Nebraska; Verne Gagne & Mad Dog Vachon beat Nick Bockwinkel & Bobby Duncum, also Greg Gagne beat Pat Patterson

1980 - The Iron Sheik defeated Jim Brunzell for the NWA Mid-Atlantic Heavyweight Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1981 - Ernie Ladd defeated Kerry Von Erich to win the World Class American Heavyweight Title in Fort Worth, Texas.

1985 - Billy Jack Haynes and Ricky Vaughn defeat Mega Maharishi (Ed Wiskoski) and Kendo Nagasaki for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title in Portland, Oregon.

1987 - Jeff Jarrett defeated Moondog Spot in Memphis, Tennessee to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title. At the same show, Mark Starr and Billy Travis defeated Badd Company (Paul Diamond and Pat Tanaka) for the CWA/AWA International Tag Team Title.

1991 - Brad Anderson defeated Ricky Santana to win the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Title in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico; Charlie Norris defeated Golden Idol (subbing for Terminator Rigs) for the Pro Wrestling America Heavyweight Title in Shakopee, Michigan

1996 - In Philadelphia, Pa; Shane Douglas defeated ECW World Television Champion 2 Cold Scorpio to win the title.

2003 - Taiji Ishimori defeated Super Crazy in Mexico City, Mexico for the vacant UWA World Welterweight Title.

2008 - At the TNA Sacrifice PPV in Orlando, Florida; LAX defeated Team 3-D to win the finals of the Deuces Wild tournament and the TNA Tag Team Title.