About Us  |   Contact

AEW announces 'The Deadly Draw' women's tag team tournament

A women’s tag team cup tournament was announced tonight on AEW Dynamite.

The tournament, which was referred to as "The Deadly Draw", will feature sixteen stars of AEW's women's roster forming eight teams. There weren’t many details involved, though the video did show much of the AEW's roster including Brandi Rhodes, Allie, Penelope Ford, Anna Jay, Nyla Rose, and Big Swole.

“This is our opportunity to rise up and show the world what we are made of” the narrator in the video said.

The tournament will take place this summer, though there were no details as to when the tournament would begin.

The AEW Women’s championship in recent weeks has centered around Hikaru Shida, who defeated Nyla Rose in a Falls Count anywhere match to win the championship back at Double or Nothing. Shida pinned Penelope Ford to retain the title at Fyter Fest.

Rose has since taken Vickie Guerrero as her new manager.