About Us  |   Contact

New NWA National Champion crowned at 70th Anniversary Show

Willie Mack is the first NWA National champion under the Billy Corgan banner.

Mack defeated Samuel Shaw to win the title during tonight’s NWA 70th anniversary show in Nashville, Tennessee. The finish came after Mack hit Shaw with the stunner. Shaw kicked out and went for a superkick, but Mack dodged and hit a second stunner to secure the win.

Before the finals, Shaw defeated Sammy Guevara, Scorpio Sky and Colt Cabana to advance. Mack defeated Jay Bradley, Ricky Starks and Mike Parrow. After Mack won his match, he and Shaw had a staredown. Bradley jumped Mack after the match which put him at a disadvantage going into the finals.

The National championship dates back to 1980, when Austin Idol became the first champion. After Georgia Championship Wrestling was absorbed into the WWE in 1984, the championship was then defended in Championship Wrestling from Georgia until 1986 when it was unified with the United States title under Jim Crockett Promotions. 

The title was reactivated in 1997, but was declared vacant last year when the NWA terminated contracts with all of their licensees.