About Us  |   Contact

NJPW announces blocks, matches for Best of the Super Juniors

NJPW has revealed both blocks and matches for this year’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament.

A Block will feature Taka Michinoku, Titan, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Marty Scurll, Jonathan Gresham, SHO, Shingo Takagi, Dragon Lee, Taiji Ishimori, and Tiger Mask IV. B Block meanwhile will feature Robbie Eagles, Flip Gordon, El Desperado, Bandido, El Phantasmo, Will Ospreay, BUSHI, Ryusuke Taguchi, YOH, and Rocky Romero.

The first show will take place on May 13 with A Block action. The main event will be a rematch from the first night of Wrestling Dontaku, with Dragon Lee facing Ishimori. Shingo vs. SHO, Scurll vs. Gresham, Titan vs. Kanemaru, and Tiger Mask vs. Michinoku are also set.

Will Ospreay vs. El Phantasmo, which was teased during the second Wrestling Dontaku show when they wrestled in a tag team match, will take place on May 22. 

The full schedule for this year’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament can be found here. The tour will end on June 5 at Sumo Hall. All shows will air live on New Japan World with English commentary.

If IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion Dragon Lee doesn't win the tournament, it's expected that the winner will get a shot at his title at Dominion on June 9.

It was also announced that Brody King will be working the Best of the Super Juniors tour in the undercard matches. He was a part of the New Beginning in USA shows earlier this year, after New Japan talent were unable to make it due to visa issues.