About Us  |   Contact

NJPW crowns new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions

Image: NJPW

El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru are the new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions. 

The Suzuki-gun team defeated Hiromu Takahashi and BUSHI in the main event of today's New Japan Road event in Tokyo's Korakuen Hall to claim the vacant titles.

After a low blow and a whiskey bottle shot from Kanemaru, Desperado hit Pinche Loco on Takahashi for a near fall. Desperado followed up with a straight right hand and a second Pinche Loco before pinning Takahashi to win the titles.

The is the second IWGP Junior Tag Team Title reign for Desperado and Kanemaru.

Former champions SHO and YOH were forced to relinquish the titles after YOH suffered a knee injury, resulting in a four team, league-style tournament to determine the new champions.

Kanemaru and Desperado's team and Takahashi and BUSHI both finished the tournament 2-1 to set up today's final. The teams of Taiji Ishimori/Gedo and Master Wato/Ryusuke Taguchi both finished 1-2.