Skip to main content

CM Punk appearance announced for AEW Dynamite New Year's Smash


A CM Punk appearance has been added to tonight's AEW Dynamite New Year's Smash. 

AEW announced on Twitter that Punk would be appearing in the company's Daily's Place home base in Jacksonville, Florida for the first time on tonight's show. 

Punk, Sting and Darby Allin defeated MJF, Dax Harwood and Cash Wheeler in the trios match main event of last week's AEW Dynamite Holiday Bash. 

Also added to today's show is a ten-man tag match, with AEW World Tag Team Champions The Lucha Brothers, Jurassic Express and Christian Cage taking on Matt Hardy, FTR and Private Party. 

Jim Ross will also return to the commentary team after announcing that he is cancer-free after undergoing radiation treatments for skin cancer. 

Here is the announced lineup for Dynamite: 

  • Jim Ross returns
  • CM Punk appears
  • TBS Championship tournament semifinals: Thunder Rosa vs. Jade Cargill
  • Adam Cole, Bobby Fish & Kyle O'Reilly vs. Orange Cassidy, Trent & Chuck Taylor
  • Lucha Brothers, Christian Cage, Jurassic Express vs. Matt Hardy, Private Party & FTR
  • Eddie Kingston, Santana & Ortiz vs. Daniel Garcia & 2point0