Skip to main content

First AEW Tag Team Champions crowned on Dynamite


The SCU duo of Frankie Kazarian and Scorpio Sky are the first AEW Tag Team champions.

The new champions were crowned tonight in the main event of Dynamite, defeating the Lucha Bros.. Pentagon Jr. had Sky in the package piledriver position as Fenix went to the top for a double foot stomp, but Kazarian managed to shove Fenix to the floor. Sky responded by countering Pentagon with a small package, picking up the win and the titles.

The title win caps off a tournament that started on the second week of AEW television. The Lucha Bros. defeated Jurassic Express and Private Party to reach the finals, while SCU defeated Best Friends and The Dark Order.

Christopher Daniels was originally set to team with Kazarian for the tournament. However, he was jumped by the Lucha Bros. prior to their match against Best Friends back on October 16. On commentary the following week, announcers said he would be out 6-8 weeks.

The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express were originally set to present the winners with the titles. They were jumped by Santana and Ortiz, however, with Ricky Morton taking a powerbomb through a platform on the stage.