Skip to main content

Marina Shafir vs. Skye Blue added to AEW Dynamite

The match will be Shafir's Dynamite debut.
shafirblue

Ahead of challenging TBS Champion Jade Cargill, Marina Shafir is set for action on this week's episode of Dynamite

AEW has announced that Shafir will make her Dynamite debut against Skye Blue this Wednesday. Shafir, who was released from WWE/NXT last June, arrived in AEW at a set of Dark tapings in December 2021.

AEW tweeted: "After dominating competition on Dark, @MarinaShafir (4-0 #AEW record in 2022) will debut on @AEWonTV vs. young fan favorite Skye Blue (@Skyebyee) on #AEWDynamite tomorrow night LIVE on @TBSNetwork @ 8pm ET/7pm CT. The TBS Champion @Jade_Cargill will be watching this bout closely!"

Shafir has been confirmed as the next opponent for Cargill, but when that match will be happening hasn't been announced. Cargill is looking for the 30th win in her undefeated streak.

Wednesday's Dynamite is being held at UNO Lakefront Arena in New Orleans. Here's the updated lineup for the episode:

  • AEW Tag Team Champions Jungle Boy & Luchasaurus defend against reDRagon (Kyle O'Reilly & Bobby Fish)
  • ROH Television Champion Minoru Suzuki defends against Samoa Joe
  • CM Punk vs. Penta Oscuro
  • Eddie Kingston, Santana & Ortiz vs. Jericho Appreciation Society (Chris Jericho, Jake Hager & Daniel Garcia)
  • Swerve Strickland & Keith Lee vs. Powerhouse Hobbs & Ricky Starks
  • MJF vs. Shawn Dean
  • Marina Shafir vs. Skye Blue

Tony Khan tweeted that TBS has granted AEW an overrun for the episode: "Thanks to our great fans, great ratings + a great card of matches set for Wednesday Night Dynamite, @TBSNetwork granted us an overrun for #AEWDynamite tomorrow! It may just be a few minutes, but whatever happens there’s a chance we’ll run past 10pm ET/9pm CT tomorrow on Dynamite!"