Skip to main content

Ten-man tag added to AEW Dynamite New Year's Smash


A new match has been added to this evening's AEW Dynamite New Year's Smash lineup. 

AEW World Tag Team Champions Penta El Zero Miedo and Rey Fenix, Jungle Boy and Luchasaurus and Christian Cage will face AAA World Tag Team Champions FTR (Dax Harwood and Cash Wheeler), Isiah Kassidy and Mark Quen and Matt Hardy. 

GM Tony Khan made the announcement today on Twitter. Khan posted:

"It’s Wednesday, you know what that means: #AEWDynamite TONIGHT, our final show on TNT! I’m adding to tonight’s great card: 4 of wrestling’s top teams & a classic rivalry all collide TONIGHT: Lucha Bros/Jungle Boy/@luchasaurus/@Christian4Peeps vs #FTR/#privateparty/@MATTHARDYBRAND"

Six of FTR's last ten matches as a unit have included Penta and Fenix, with all of those matches taking place since October 16. The teams are set to square off again next month at a AAA television taping for the AAA Tag titles. 

Here is the announced lineup for Dynamite: 

  • Jim Ross returns
  • TBS Championship tournament semifinals: Thunder Rosa vs. Jade Cargill
  • Adam Cole, Bobby Fish & Kyle O'Reilly vs. Orange Cassidy, Trent & Chuck Taylor
  • Lucha Brothers, Christian Cage, Jurassic Express vs. Matt Hardy, Private Party & FTR
  • Eddie Kingston, Santana & Ortiz vs. Daniel Garcia & 2point0