Skip to main content

On this day in history - Demon vs. Santo, Gagne vs. Kiniski

By Brian Hoops

1953 - Blue Demon defeated El Santo in Mexico City, Mexico, for the NWA

World Welterweight Title

1955 - Frank Jares defeated Sonny Myers for the NWA Southern Junior
Heavyweight Title in Birmingham, Alabama.

1958 - Sonny Myers won a tournament final in St. Joseph, Missouri to win
the Central States Heavyweight Title.

1961- In Minneapolis, MN; AWA Champion Gene Kiniski wrestled Verne Gagne to a 60 minute draw, Wilbur Snyder beat Hard Boiled Haggerty and Leo Nomellini beat Bob Geigel

1961 - At Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri; Bobo Brazil defeated Larry Hennig (sub. Rip Hawk), Tiny Smith defeated Don Leo Jonathan via dq and Dick the Bruiser defeated Bob Ellis in three falls

1964 - In Minneapolis; The Crusher beat AWA Champion Verne Gagne via dq, Mitsu Arakawa beat Wilbur Snyder, Mad Dog Vachon beat Jack Lanza and Larry Hennig drew Dale Lewis

1966 - In Chicago; AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon beat Ernie Ladd, AWA Tag Team Champions Dick the Bruiser & the Crusher beat the Assassins and Verne Gagne beat Chris Markoff

1972 - In Tampa, Florida; (Winner to meet NWA Champion Dory Funk Jr) Buddy Colt beat Mr Wrestling Tim Woods, Paul Jones beat Don Curtis and Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens drew Jack Brisco & Johnny Walker

1973 - In Honolulu, Hawaii; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Superstar Billy Graham on a 3rd fall dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Ken Patera & Billy Robinson, Ripper Collins & Ed Francis beat Neff Maiava & Sam Steamboat in 2 out of 3 falls to win Hawaiian tag title and Hard Boiled Haggerty beat Ric Flair

1974 - In Kansas City, Mike George & Bob Geigel & Bobby Bold Eagle defeated Don Fargo & Bob Orton & Bobby Garcia, Killer Karl Krupp defeated The Viking, Pat O’Connor & Omar Atlas & Bill Kersten defeated The Interns & Dr. Ken Ramey and in a Russian Chain Match: Harley Race defeated Bob Brown

1974 - In Peoria, Illinois; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat The Crusher & Wahoo McDaniel and Greg Gagne beat Larry Hennig

1977 - Captain USA (Big John Studd under a mask) defeated Bruiser Brody
for the American Heavyweight Title (later to become the World Class
World Heavyweight Title) in Ft. Worth, Texas.

1980 - Ken Mantell defeated Wahoo McDaniel in a tournament final to win
the Mid-South Louisiana Heavyweight Title.  The tournament was held
after Junkyard Dog had been forced to vacate the title after he was
blinded by the Fabulous Freebirds.

1981 - In Chicago, Illinois; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat The Crusher, 
AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura,
Jerry Blackwell beat Baron Von Raschke and Tito Santana no contest Sheik Adnan

1983 - Jimmy Garvin defeated Kevin Von Erich in Ft. Worth, Texas to win
the American Heavyweight Title (later to become the World Class World
Heavyweight Title).

1983 - Jerry Lawler defeated Ken Patera for the AWA International
Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1988 - In Memphis, TN; AWA Champion Jerry Lawler drew Kerry Von Erich, Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden beat Jeff Jarrett & Jimmy Valiant and Phil Hickerson beat Scott Steiner

1999 - At the Fully Loaded PPV in Buffalo, New York; Jeff Jarrett
defeated Edge to win the Intercontinental Title; D'Lo Brown defeated
Mideon to win the WWF European Title and Big Bossman defeated Al Snow to
win the Hardcore Title.

2009 - In Toronto, Ontario at Night Two of ROH's Death Before Dishonor; Kenny Omega & The Briscoes beat Austin Aries & Kenny King & Rhett Titus and Chris Hero beat Lance Storm.

2009 - In a TNA Ultimate X Match, Manik won the TNA X Division Title over Sonjay Dutt and Greg Marasciulo.