Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Bockwinkel vs. Morales for AWA belt in South Carolina

By Brian Hoops

1935 - Wildcat Pete defeated Tetsuo Higami in Honolulu, Hawaii to become
the first NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Champion.

1970 - In Kansas City, Kansas; The Stomper & Bob Geigel defeated K.O.
Cox & Killer Cox in
2 out of 3 falls

1976 - Bob Backlund defeated Harley Race for the Missouri Title in St.
Louis, Missouri

1978 - Paul Jones & Ricky Steamboat won the NWA World Tag Team
Championship in Greensboro, North Carolina, defeating Cyclon Negro &
Baron Von Raschke, Gene & Ole Anderson, and Masked Superstar & Ken
Patera in a tournament to win the belts.

1978 - AWA World Champion Nick Bockwinkel defeated Billy Robinson via
referee blood stoppage in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

1979 - The Assassins defeated Bill Dundee & Robert Gibson to win the AWA
Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee. On the same show, The
Mongolian Stomper defeated Toru Tanaka to win the AWA Southern
Heavyweight Title

1979 - In Greenville, SC; Paul Jones & Baron Von Raschke wrestled to a time
limit draw with NWA Tag Team Champions Jimmy Snuka & Paul Orndorff and
AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Pedro Morales.

1982 - In the main event of an AWA event in Rockford, Illinoi;
Hulk Hogan & Tito Santana beat Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum in a Steel Cage

1985 - Ox Baker defeated Carlos Colon in San Juan, Puerto Rico to win
the WWC World Heavyweight Title

1988 - Sting & Lex Luger, managed by Magnum T.A., won the third, and
final, Jim Crockett Sr. Memorial Cup tag team tournament in Greensboro,
North Carolina by defeating Tully Blanchard & Arn Anderson.

1990 - Mr. Perfect Curt Hennig defeated Tito Santana in a tournament
final in Austin, Texas to win the WWF Intercontinental Title.

1992 - The Heavenly Bodies (Stan Lane & Tom Pritchard) defeated The
Fantastics (Bobby & Jackie Fulton) in a tournament final to become the
first Smoky Mountain Wrestling Tag Team Champions.

2003 - Tiger Mask IV defeated Koji Kanemoto in Hiroshima, Japan to win
the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

2011 - The Sheik (Joey Machete) defeated Colt Cabana to win the NWA
title at a Pro Wrestling Fusion event in Jacksonville, Florida.