Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Brisco beats Race for NWA title, Gagne beats Crusher for AWA title, Robinson vs. Gagen

by Brian Hoops

1939 - At Memorial Hall in Kansas City; Orville Brown and Wladek Zbyszko wrestled to a draw, Steve Brody and Mike Kilonis drew, Bob Castle beat Abe Freeman and Don George defeated Bob Castle.

1962 - In Winnipeg; Bill Miller & Bob Geigel beat Ilio DiPaolo & Joe Scarpello to win the AWA Canadian Open tag team titles, Doug Gilbert beat Tiny Mills and Moose Evans beat Larry Hennig  
1963 - Verne Gagne defeated The Crusher in Minneapolis, Minnesota to win
the AWA World Heavyweight Title. Also on the card, Jack Pesek & Roy McClarty beat Stan Kowalski & Tiny Mills, 
Iron Mike DiBiase beat Billy Goelz and Larry Hennig beat Paul Christy. Attendance was 7,040. 

1967 - In Kansas City; Ron Reed fought Earl Maynard to a draw, Sonny Myers defeated Bob Geigel, The Hangman defeated Steve Bolus
and The Mongolian Stomper defeated Bob Brown in three falls. 

1971 - In Bismarck, North Dakota; In a Non Title match, Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson beat AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez and Billy Robinson beat Big K. 

1972 - In Kansas City, Kansas; Rufus R. Jones & Omar Atlas & Les Thornton defeated Roy Bass & Billy Howard & Juan Sebastian, Roger Kirby & Black Angus (w/ Percival A. Friend) defeated Chati Yokouchi & Yasu Fuji in three falls and  Harley Race defeated Bob Ellis via countout in three falls

1973 - Jack Brisco defeated Harley Race in Houston, Texas to win the NWA
World Heavyweight Title.

1974 - In Chicago, Illinois at the International Amphitheatre; Billy Robinson beat AWA Champion Verne Gagne in 2 out of 3 falls. (no title change as it was ruled Gagne's foot ruled to be on rope). AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat The Crusher & Wahoo McDaniel in 2 out of 3 falls, Ivan Putski beat Baron Von Raschke via dq, Mitsu Arakawa beat Moose Cholak via dq and
Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Larry Heiniemi & Buddy Wolff in 2 out of 3 falls. 

1977 - In Honolulu, Hawaii; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Billy White Wolf in 2 out of 3 falls; Bill Francis went to a double count out with North American Champion John Tolos and Ricky Hunter beat Tony Borne. 

1979 - In Rockford, Illinois; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Greg Gagne by dq, in a Taped Fist Match, Mad Dog Vachon beat Ray Stevens, Bobby Duncum & Super Destroyer Mark II beat Dick Reynolds & Billy Robinson and Jesse Ventura beat Paul Ellering.

1985 - In Chicago, Illinois; AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Michael Hayes, Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Sgt. Slaughter & Greg Gagne by dq, Fabulous Freebirds Terry Gordy & Buddy Roberts beat The Crusher & Buck Zumhofe, Billy Robinson beat Baron Von Raschke and Boris Zhukov beat Steve O

1990 - In East Moline, Illinois; The Trooper beat AWA Champion Larry Zbyszko by dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Destruction Crew Wayne Bloom & Mike Enos beat Buck Zumhofe & Tommy Jammer, Baron Von Raschke beat Jonnie Stewart and Curtis Hughes beat Hangman Killer

1992 - Eddie Gilbert defeated Ricky Morton in Memphis, Tennessee to win
the USWA Unified Heavyweight Title. On the same card, Brian Christopher
defeated Tom Prichard for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title.

1992 - The Natural Disasters (Earthquake & Typhoon) defeated Money Inc.
(Ted DiBiase & IRS) to win the WWF World Tag Team Title in Worcester,

1998 - D'Lo Brown defeated Triple H for the WWF European Title on Monday
Night Raw while Bret Hart defeated Dallas Page for the vacant WCW US
Title on WCW Monday Nitro.

1999 - The Suicide Blondes (Rip Rogers & Jason Lee) defeated Flash
Flannagan & Trailer Park Trash to win the OVW Southern Tag Team Title in
Louisville, Kentucky.

2000 - Tatsuhito Takaiwa defeated Jushin Liger in Sapporo, Japan to win
the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship.

2008 - Shelton Benjamin won the WWF US Title at the Great American Bash
PPV from Matt Hardy. Also, Chris Jericho defeated Shawn Michaels by referee stoppage. 

2014 - At the Battleground PPV, the Miz won the Intercontinental Title in a Battle Royal, John Cena retained the WWE World Title over Roman Reigns, Kane and Randy Orton and Chris Jericho defeated Bray Wyatt.