Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Daniel Bryan & Daniels win IWGP jr. tag title, Storm & Justin Credible

By Brian Hoops

1965 - WWWF World Champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Bill Miller via
disqualification in Pittsburgh, PA.

1983 - Ricky Steamboat & Jay Youngblood defeated Sgt. Slaughter & Don
Kernodle in a steel cage for the NWA World Tag Team Championship in
Greensboro, North Carolina. NWA World Champion Ric Flair fought NWA US
Champion Greg Valentine to a 60-minute time-limit draw.  There were 6,000 fans turned away at this show and the success of it led to the idea of the first Starrcade.  The main event tag title match is generally considered one of the two biggest matches in the history of Mid Atlantic wrestling, along with the Ric Flair vs. Harley Race match later that year.

1983- Andre the Giant won a 20 man battle royal and WWF World Champion
Bob Backlund pinned WWF IC Champion Don Muraco in a Texas Death Match at
an event in Landover, Maryland

1983 - In Baltimore, Maryland, Rocky Johnson defeated Superstar Billy
Graham by countout and Big John Studd defeated WWF World Champion Bob
Backlund by dq.

1984 - Mr. Wrestling II defeated The Junkyard Dog in New Orleans,
Louisiana to win the Mid South North American Heavyweight Title

1987 - NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated the Great Wajima at an All
Japan Pro Wrestling event at Budokan Hall in Tokyo, Japan.

1987 - Jim Crockett Promotions ran Sunrise, FL at the Musical Theatre.
Barry Windham fought Lex Luger to a 20-minute time-limit draw; NWA Tag
Team Champions Rick Rude & Manny Fernandez defeated Ricky Morton &
Robert Gibson; NWA US Champion Nikita Koloff pinned Arn Anderson and NWA
TV Champion Tully Blanchard defeated Dusty Rhodes via disqualification

1988 -  In Chicago, Illinois; Randy Savage, WWF Tag Team Champions Rick
Martel & Tito Santana defeated WWF IC Champion the Honkytonk Man, Bret
Hart, & Jim Neidhart in a steel cage match

1989 - Jeff Jarrett & Kerry Von Erich defeated The Stud Stable, Robert
Fuller & Jimmy Golden, to win the World Class  Tag Team Titles.

1990 - Jerry "The King" Lawler defeated Jimmy Valiant in Memphis,
Tennessee for the USWA Unified Heavyweight Title

1992 - Sting and Ron Simmons defeated WCW US Champion Rick Rude and
Larry Zbyszko and Rick and Scott Steiner defeated Steve Austin and Bobby
Eaton at a show in Camp LeJune, NC.

1993 - Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka defeated Glenn Osbourne in a tournament
final in Radnor, Pennsylvania to become the ECW Television Champion.

1993 - in Erie, PA; Rick & Scott Steiner defeated the Beverly Brothers
and WWF World Champion Bret Hart defeated Bam Bam Bigelow

1994 - in Dresden, Germany, 2 Cold Scorpio & Marcus Alexander Bagwell
defeated Paul Orndorff & Paul Roma, Vader pinned Cactus Jack with the
powerbomb. (match where Jack lost his ear) and Sting & Ricky Steamboat
defeated WCW US Champion Steve Austin & Ron Simmons

1995 - in Denver, Colorado, WCW Tag Team Champions Harlem Heat defeated
Marcus Alexander Bagwell & the Patriot; Randy Savage & Sting defeated
Avalanche & Big Bubba and WCW US Champion Vader defeated Jim Duggan

1999 - In Trenton, New Jersey; ECW Tag Team Champions - ECW TV Champion
Rob Van Dam & Sabu defeated Buh Buh Ray & D-Von Dudley and Jerry Lynn
defeated Lance Storm.

1999 - At Anaheim, CA WWF Tag Team Champions Owen Hart & Jeff Jarrett
defeated Triple H & X-Pac and Steve Austin & Mankind defeated WWF World
Champion the Rock & Kane in a Texas Tornado match

2000 - In Albany, New York WWF Tag Team Champions the Dudley Boyz
defeated Matt & Jeff Hardy and Edge & Christian in an elimination match
and The Rock & Kane defeated WWF World Champion Triple H & X-Pac

2000 - In Danbury, CT Lance Storm & Justin Credible defeated ECW Tag
Team Champions Mike Awesome & Raven and Tommy Dreamer & Masato Tanaka in
a Three-Way Dance to win the titles and in the finals of the ECW World
TV Title
Tournament, Super Crazy pinned Rhino to win the title

2004 - American Dragon Bryan Danielson & Curry Man defeated Gedo & Jado
to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles.

2004 - Kensuke Sasaki defeated Hiroyoshi Tenzan to win the IWGP
Heavyweight Title.

2006 - At the Destination X PPV in Orlando, Florida; Christopher Daniels
defeated Samoa Joe & AJ Styles in an Ultimate X Match to win the TNA X
Division Title