Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Fargos headline MSG, Funks vs. Briscos, Badnews vs. Dynamite, Lesnar beats Angle in Mania, Flair's WWE retirement

By Brian Hoops

1870 - James H. McLaughlin defeated Homer Lane to win the American
Collar-and-Elbow Champion in New York City, New York

1957 - Miguel Perez and Antonino Rocca defeated Wildman (Jackie) Fargo
and Don Stevens (Fargo) in New York City, New York to win the Capitol
Wrestling NWA World Tag Team Title.

1971 - Dory Funk, Jr. and Terry Funk defeated Jack and Jerry Brisco to
win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in Tampa, Florida.

1973 - Ron Miller and Larry O'Day defeated Don Carson and Dick Dunn for
the NWA Austra-Asian Tag Team Title in Sydney, Australia.

1976 - Rick Gibson defeated Duke Miller in Mobile, Alabama for the NWA
Alabama Heavyweight Title

1977 - Bob Roop and Alexis Smirnoff defeated Pepper Gomez and Pat
Patterson to win the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in
Sacramento, California.

1981 - Eric Embry defeated El Solitario in Puebla, Mexico to win the UWA
World Junior Light Heavyweight Title.

1981 - Ron Bass defeated Ken Lucas for the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight
Title in Birmingham, Alabama.

1981 - Masa Fuchi and Mr. Onita (Atsushi Onita) defeated The Dream
Machine and Bill Dundee to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Title in
Memphis, Tennessee.

1984 - Bad News Allen defeated The Dynamite Kid to win the Stampede
North American Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta

1984 - Cien Caras won the Mexican National Heavyweight Title in Mexico
City, Mexico, by defeating Rayo de Jalisco, Jr.

1985 - Jimmy Golden won the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight Title in
Dothan, Alabama by defeating Boomer Lynch.

1991 - TNT (Savio Vega) defeated Action Jackson to win the WWC
Television Title in Bayamón, Puerto Rico

2003 - Brock Lesnar defeated Kurt Angle to win the WWE Championship at
Wrestlemania XIX in Seattle, Wash.

2007 - At the ROH All Star Extravaganza III at the Michigan State
Fairgrounds Expo Center in Detroit, Michigan; FIP Tag Team Champions The
Briscoes (Jay and Mark) defeated ROH World Tag Team Champions Naruki Doi
and Shingo to win the title.

2008 - Undertaker defeated Edge to win the World Title at Wrestlemania
24 and Shawn Michaels defeated Ric Flair in
Ric Flair's retirement match in Orlando, Florida.