Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history - Lawler vs. Kaufman, Savage vs. Flair and Hart vs. Piper Mania

By Brian Hoops

1953 - Bobby Bruns and Bobby Managoff defeated Al Kashey and Tom Rice to
win the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1961 - Bobby and Don Fields defeated The Mysterious Medics in Mobile,
Alabama for the Gulf Coast NWA Southern Tag Team Title

1961 - Skull Murphy defeated Guy Mitchell in Columbus, Georgia to win
the Georgia NWA Southern Heavyweight Title.

1968 - Spoiler #1 (Don Jardine) defeated Fritz Von Erich for the NWA
American Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas

1968 - Harley Race defeated Sonny Myers to win the NWA Central States
Heavyweight Title in St. Joseph, Missouri.

1974 - Pat Barrett and Tony Kontellis won a tournament in Sydney,
Australia for the NWA Austra-Asian Tag Team Title.

1976 - Big Bad John and Bill Dundee defeated Roger Kirby and David
Schultz in Memphis, Tennessee for the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team

1978 - The Assassin and Ernie Ladd defeated Ray Candy and Steven Little
Bear to win the Tri-State NWA United States Tag Team Title in Baton
Rouge, Louisiana.

1978 - Steve Grey defeated Bobby Ryan in a tournament final for the
British Lightweight Title in Blackburn, England.

1980 - Roger Mason defeated Steve Travis to win the NWA Mid-America
Heavyweight Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

1982 - In their famous match at the Mid-South Coliseum in Memphis,
Tennessee, Andy Kaufman defeated AWA Southern Heavyweight Champion Jerry
Lawler by disqualification, after Lawler hit Kaufman with a piledriver,
a banned move. After the match, Lawler gave Kaufman a second piledriver,
with Kaufman being taken to a hospital in an ambulance.

1984 - Jerry and Ted Oates won the NWA Central States Tag Team Title in
Kansas City, Kansas, defeating The Grapplers (Tony Anthony and Len Denton).

1986 - Riki Choshu defeated Stan Hansen to win the NJPW PWF Heavyweight
Title in Yokohama, Japan.

1987 - Bruce Hart and Brian Pillman defeated Kerry Brown and Duke Meyers
to win the vacant Stampede International Tag Team Title in Calgary,
Alberta Canada.

1991 - Bill Dundee won the USWA Texas Heavyweight Title from Eric Embry
in Dallas, Texas. At the same event, Jeff Jarrett defeated Tom Prichard
for the USWA Heavyweight Title

1992 - At Wrestlemania VIII in Indianapolis, Indiana Bret Hart pinned
WWF Intercontinental Champion Roddy Piper to win the title and Randy
Savage (with Miss Elizabeth) pinned WWF Champion Ric Flair (with Mr.
Perfect) to win the title

1992 - Satanico defeated Lizmark for the NWA World Light Heavyweight
Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1997 - Carlos Colón won the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title in Caguas,
Puerto Rico, by defeating Jim Steele

1999 - Kane and X-Pac defeated WWF Tag Team Champions Owen Hart and Jeff
Jarrett (with Debra) to win the title in Uniondale, New York.

2002 - Ricky Banderas and Shane the Glamour Boy defeated The Starr
Corporation (Chicky Starr and Victor the Bodyguard) to win the IWA World
Tag Team Title in Manatí, Puerto Rico

2002 - Bruce and Teddy Hart defeated Apocalypse and Dave Swift in a
tournament final for the Stampede International Tag Team Title in
Calgary, Alberta.

2003 - Ray Gonzalez won the IWA World Heavyweight Title from Ricky
Banderas in Bayamón, Puerto Rico

2006 - K.C. James and Roadkill defeated The Untouchables (Deuce and
Domino) for the OVW Southern Tag Team Title in Louisville, Kentucky.

2013 - At the ROH Supercard of Honor 7 show, Jay Briscoe defeated Kevin
Steen to win the ROH World Title.