Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Low Ki vs. Devitt, Punk wins OVW title, Muto wins IWGP belt, Bret wins NA title, DiBiase & Dr. Death, Sheik, Watts, Fargos

By Brian Hoops

1884 - H.M. Dufur defeated James McLaughlin for the American Collar-and-Elbow Title in Chicago, Illinois.

1951 - Sonny Myers defeated Dennis Clary for the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title in Kansas City, Kansas.

1956 - Joe Scarpello defeated The Mystery Man to win his third Midwest Wrestling Association Junior Heavyweight Title

1957 - Don McIntyre defeated Kurt Von Brauner to win the Georgia NWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1961 - The Mysterious Medics defeated Jackie and Joey Fargo for the Gulf Coast NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Mobile, Alabama

1963 - Dick Steinborn defeated Tarzan Tyler to win the Georgia World Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1963 - Lee Fields and Joe Scarpa (Jay Strongbow) defeated Tiger Tomasso and Pancho Villa for the Gulf Coast NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Dothan, Alabama

1967 - Paul DeMarco and Luis Hernandez defeated Jim Bernard and Tarzan Tyler to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Title in San Antonio, Texas.

1967 - Ripper Collins and Curtis Iaukea defeated Johnny Barend and Hans Mortier to win the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1968 - Ron Etchison won the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title from Harley Race in St. Joseph, Missouri.

1969 - Karl and Kurt Von Steiger defeated Tony Borne and Moondog Mayne for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1974 - Buddy Colt defeated Bill Watts for the Tri-State NWA North American Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Florida

1975 - In Chicago, Illinois; Superstar Billy Graham & Dusty Rhodes beat Baron Von Raschke & Horst Hoffman

1976 - Big Bad John and Bill Dundee defeated Plowboy (Stan) Frazier and Jerry Lawler to win the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1979 - Mr. Sato and John Tolos defeated Akihisa Takachiho (The Great Kabuki) and Ricky Romero) to win the NWA Western States Tag Team Title in Amarillo, Texas.

1980 - The Sheik defeated Mighty Igor in Detroit, Michigan for the Detroit NWA United States Heavyweight Title. At that same event, Frankie Laine and George Steele won the Detroit NWA World Tag Team Title from John Bonello and Randy Scott.

1982 - Jimmy Garvin defeated Mr. Wrestling II for the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in West Palm Beach, Florida

1983 - Bret Hart defeated Leo Burke for the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title in Regina, Saskatchewan

1985 - In Denver, Colorado; Jerry Blackwell & The Crusher & Sgt. Slaughter beat Masked Superstar & King Tonga & Sheik Adnan in a steel cage match; AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Jim Garvin and Greg Gagne went to a time limit draw with Nick Bockwinkel.

1985 - Ted DiBiase and Steve Williams defeated The Rock 'n' Roll Express (Robert Gibson and Ricky Morton) to win the Mid-South Tag Team Title in Houston, Texas

1990 - John Tatum defeated Bill Dundee for the USWA Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas.

1991 - Eric Embry defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the USWA Heavyweight Title reign in Dallas, Texas.

1992 - The Steiner Brothers (Rick and Scott) defeated WCW World Tag Team Champions Arn Anderson and Bobby Eaton in a steel cage match to win the title in Chicago, Illinois.

1993 - Papa Shango defeated Jerry Lawler in Memphis, Tennessee to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1995 - IWGP Tag Team Champion Keiji Mutoh defeated IWGP Heavyweight Champion Shinya Hashimoto to win the title in Fukuoka, Japan.

1998 - Booker T defeated Chris Benoit for the WCW World Television Title at a house show in Savannah, Georgia

2006 - CM Punk defeated Brent Albright in a strap match in Louisville, Kentucky to win the OVW Heavyweight Title.

2006 - Koji Kanemoto defeated Tiger Mask for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title in Fukuoka, Japan.

2012 - at New Japan Pro Wrestling's Wrestling Dontaku in Fukuoka, Japan; Low Ki defeated Prince Devitt to become the IWGP Junior Heavyweight champion and Toru Yano & Takashi Iizuka beat Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima to win the IWGP Tag Team Title.