Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Midnight Express wins Mid South tag titles for the first time

by Brian Hoops

1976 - Blackjack Mulligan defeated Paul Jones to win the NWA
Mid-Atlantic United States Title.

1983 - The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton) defeated
Magnum TA & Mr Wrestling II in a Loser Receives 10 Lashes Match to win
the Mid South Tag Team Titles after Mr Wrestling walked out on his partner.

1985 - Terry Taylor defeated Ted DiBiase in Shreveport, Louisiana to win
the Mid South North American Heavyweight Title

1999 - ECW World Tag Team Champions Sabu and Rob Van Dam defeated the
Dudley Boyz and Tommy Dreamer and Shane Douglas in a Three Way Dance at
an event in Philadelphia, PA.

2000 - Dean Malenko defeated Essa Rios to win the WWF Light Heavyweight

2001 - Crash Holly defeated Dean Makenko for the WWF Light Heavyweight

2002 - Christopher Daniels defeated Samoa Joe and Frankie Kazarian in a
Three Way match to win the UPW Heavyweight Title in Santa, Ana California,

2005 - Christopher Daniels won the TNA X Division Title in an Ultimate X
Challenge match
involving Elix Skipper and Ron Killings at the Destination X PPV in
Orlando, Florida.

2011 - At the TNA Victory Road PPV in Orlando, Florida; Rosita and
Sarita defeated
Angelina Love and Winter to win the TNA Knockouts Tag Team Title.