Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Race defends belt against Ladd, Big Show defeats Flair

by Brian Hoops

1946 - Everett Marshall defeated The Swedish Angel for the Rocky
Mountain Heavyweight Title in Denver, Colorado

1947 - Cliff Gustafson defeated Sandor Szabo to win the Minneapolis
World Heavyweight Title in Minneapolis, Minnesota

1949 - Sonny Myers defeated Danny McShain for the NWA Texas Heavyweight
Title in Houston, Texas

1952 - Pierre LaBelle and Juan Garcia defeated The Golden Terror and
Danny Savic to the New Mexico Tag Team Title in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

1953 - Danno MacDonald and David Johns defeated Paul DeGalles and Tarzan
Potvin for the Northwest Tag Team Title in Vancouver, British Columbia.

1958 - Rip Rogers (Eddie Graham) and Johnny Valentine defeated Albert
and Enrique Torres to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Title in Dallas, Texas.

1964 - Dick the Bruiser defeated Fred Blassie for the World Wrestling
Association World Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California.

1964 - Nick Bockwinkel and Nick Kozak defeated The Destoyer and Dan
Manoukian (subbing for Art Michalik) for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag
Team Title in Salem, Oregon

1966 - Rayo de Jalisco and Santo defeated René Guajardo and Karloff
Lagarde in a tournament final for the Mexican National Tag Team Title.

1968 - Johnny Rougeau defeated Ivan Koloff to win the IWA International
Heavyweight Title in Montreal, Quebec

1968 - The Spoilers (Don Jardine and Smasher Sloan) defeated Billy Red
Lyons and Fritz Von Erich for the NWA American Tag Team Title in Fort
Worth, Texas.

1969 - Tony Borne and Moondog Mayne defeated Karl and Kurt Von Steiger
for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1973 - The Mighty Mongol defeated Bob Kelly to win the NWA Gulf Coast
Heavyweight Title reign in Pensacola, Florida.

1977 - The Wrestling Pro defeated Ken Mantell to win the NWA Gulf Coast
Heavyweight Title in Dothan, Alabama

1977- In St. Louis, Missouri; NWA Champion Harley Race defeated Ernie Ladd
to retain the title; Missouri State Champion Jack Brisco defeated Lord
Alfred Hayes and The High Flyers defeated Bob Brown and Mitsu Hata.

1979- In Greensboro, NC; NWA Champion Harley Race defeated Dino Bravo and
AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel defeated Paul Orndorff.

1989 - Carl Styles defeated The Grappler for the NWA Pacific Northwest
Heavyweight Title in Portland, Oregon

1996 - in San Bernadino, California; Goldust (with Marlena) pinned Savio
Vega to win the held-up WWF Intercontinental Title

1996- In Albany, Georgia; The Giant (with Jimmy Hart) pinned WCW World
Heavyweight Champion Ric Flair (with Miss Elizabeth and Woman) to win
the title.

2000 - At the ECW Cyberslam PPV in Philadelphia, PA; Rhino defeated ECW
Television Champion Yoshihiro Tajiri to win the title. At the same event,
Tommy Dreamer defeated ECW World Heavyweight Champion Tazz to win the
and Justin Credible defeated Tommy Dreamer to win the title.

2000 - Trevor Rhodes defeated Meng in Eldon, Missouri to win the World
League Wrestling Heavyweight Title.

2001 - The Disciples of Synn (Damian and Payne) defeated The Minnesota
Stretching Crew (Brock Lesnar and Shelton Benjamin) to win the OVW
Southern Tag Team Title in Jeffersonville, Indiana.

2006 - Darin Corbin defeated Arik Cannon in Midlothian, Illinois to win
the IWA Mid-South Heavyweight Title