Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: Valentine vs. Flair, Dusty wins final NWA title

By Brian Hoops

1929 - In St. Louis, Missouri at the Outdoor Battery Arena; Dick Shikat beat Joe Komar 

1946 - Dave Levin defeated Kay Bell for the Texas Heavyweight Title in
Houston, Texas

1950 - Ray Clements defeated Frank Murdoch to win Amarillo's Southwest
Junior Heavyweight Title in Lubbock, Texas.

1960 - Curly Gagnon defeated Andy Galipeau in Winnipeg, Manitoba for the
Madison Wrestling Club Middleweight Title

1968 - Fritz Von Erich defeated Spoiler #1 in Houston, Texas for the
held-up NWA American Heavyweight Title.

1970 - Miyoko Hoshino and Yoshiko Miyamoto defeated Masked Killer and
Masked Lee in Fuchu, Japan to win the American Girls' Wrestling
Association International Tag Team Title.

1972 - Fred Blassie defeated Johnny Barend for the Hawaii NWA North
American Heavyweight Title

1972 Miami, Florida; Paul Jones beat Jack Brisco on a 3rd fall dq, Don Curtis beat Buddy Colt dq and 
Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Hiro Matsuda & Ron Fuller.

1972 - Miyoko Hoshino defeated Sarah Lee in Kasugabe, Japan for the WWWA
World Singles Title. At the same event, Aiko Kyo and Jumbo Miyamoto won
the WWWA World Tag Team Title from Opearl Anston and Masked Lee.

1973 - In Kansas City; Mike George & Jim Brunzell defeated Percy Pringle & Jim Dalton, Togo the Great & Tokyo Joe defeated Hillbilly Vic & Steve Bolus, In an Indian Strap Match; Danny Little Bear defeated Bob Brown and Lord Alfred Hayes & Roger Kirby defeated Bobo Brazil & Rufus R. Jones in three falls

1977 - Ken Lucas defeated Kurt Von Hess to win the NWA Gulf Coast
Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama

1980 - Greg Valentine defeated Ric Flair to win the NWA United States
Heavyweight Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1980 - Barry Windham defeated Masa Saito for the NWA Florida Television
Title in St. Petersburg, Florida.

1981 - Angelo Mosca defeated Mr. Fuji in Toronto, Ontario to win the
Toronto NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title

1981 - In Green Bay; Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura beat The Crusher & Baron Von Raschke, Sheik Adnan ddq Tito Santana and 
Jerry Blackwell beat Brad Rheingans. 

1983 - Tiger Jeet Singh and Umanosuke Ueda defeated Giant Baba and Jumbo
Tsuruta to win the NWA International Tag Team Title in Nagasaki, Japan,
to end Baba and Tsuruta's fifth reign.

1984 - The Grapplers (Tony Anthony and Len Denton) defeated The Uptown
Boys (Marty Jannetty and Tommy Rogers) to win the NWA Central States Tag
Team Title in Kansas City, Kansas,

1985 - In Albany, GA, The Midnight Express, Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton
won an 18 Man Battle Royal and split the "$10,000" purse.

1986 - At the Great American Bash, Dusty Rhodes defeated NWA
World Heavyweight Champion Ric Flair in a Steel Cage match to win the
title and Magnum T.A. defeated Nikita Koloff (with Ivan Koloff) make their best-of-seven 
series for the NWA United States Heavyweight Title 3-1 favor of Nikita in Greensboro, North Carolina.
Also on the card, NWA National Heavyweight Champion Tully Blanchard (with James J. Dillon) defeated Ron Garvin in a Taped Fist match and The Rock 'n' Roll Express (Robert Gibson and Ricky Morton) fought The Minnesota Wrecking Crew (NWA World Television Champion Arn and Ole Anderson) to a draw.

1991 - The Can-Am Express (Doug Furnas and Dan Kroffat) defeated Billy
Black and Joel Deaton to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Title in
Matsudo, Japan,

1998 - WWF Champion Steve Austin and The Undertaker defeated WWF Tag
Team Champions Kane and Mankind to win the title in Fresno, California. Also,
WWF Intercontinental Champion The Rock fought Triple H (with Chyna) to a 30-minute time-limit draw in a best-of-three falls match to retain the title. 

2005 - Katsuhiko Nakajima and Kensuke Sasaki defeated Shuji Kondo and "brother" YASSHI for the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Title in Tokyo, Japan.

2009 - At the Night of Champions PPV, Christian defeated Tommy Dreamer
to win the ECW Championship and Mickie James defeated Maryse to win the
Diva's Championship. Also, Jeff Hardy defeated CM Punk to win the World