Skip to main content

On this day in pro wrestling history: WWF champion vs. NWF champion double title match in Mexico

By Brian Hoops

1969 - NWA World Heavyweight Champion Dory Funk, Jr. wrestled Dick
Murdoch to a time limit draw at Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas.

1976 - In Indianapolis, Indiana; Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher beat Ox
Baker & Chuck O'Connor to win the WWA Tag Team Title
in a steel cage match.

1981 - Harley Race defeated Tommy Rich for the NWA World Heavyweight
Title in Gainesville, Georgia.

1981 - Gene & Ole Anderson defeated Paul Jones & Masked Superstar for
the NWA World Tag Team Title in Richmond, Virginia.

1981 - Bob Backlund defended the WWF title against NWF World champion
Antonio Inoki in, Mexico City, Mexico at El Toreo De Cuatro Caminos. 
They fought to a draw in a Best 2 out of 3 falls match;

1981 - In Denver, Colorado; Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat AWA Tag Team
Champions Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura in a non-title Cage Match; The
Crusher and Jerry Blackwell went to a double disqualification; Nick
Bockwinkel beat Tito Santana; Baron Von Raschke beat Big John Studd and
Ray Stevens beat Buck Zumhofe.

1983 - In Atlanta, Georgia; Tommy Rich & Paul Orndorff defeated Larry
Zbyszko & Killer Brooks and
Tony Atlas defeated NWA World Champion Ric Flair via disqualification.

1983  - In Greensboro, NC; Greg Valentine defeated NWA U.S. Champion
Roddy Piper to win the title and
NWA World Tag Team Champions Ricky Steamboat & Jay Youngblood defeated
Sgt. Slaughter & Don Kernodle.

1993 - Brian Christopher defeated Jeff Jarrett for the USWA Southern
Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee,

1994 - Shinya Hashimoto defeated Tatsumi Fujinami for the IWGP
Heavyweight Title at the Fukuoka Dome.

1995 - Jerry Lawler defeated Razor Ramon for the USWA Unified
Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.  On the same show, PG-13
defeated Brickhouse Brown & The Gambler for the USWA Tag Team Title.

1998 - Booker T defeated Chris Benoit for the WCW World Television Title
in Greenville, South Carolina,

1998 - In Tokyo, Japan; Toshiaki Kawada defeated Mitsuharu Misawa to win
the All Japan Triple Crown.

2011 - At the Extreme Rules PPV in Tampa, Florida; Kofi Kingston
defeated Sheamus to win the US Title
in a Tables Match, Christian won the World title in a Ladder Match,
defeating Alberto del Rio and John Cena won the WWE title in a Three-Way
Cage match defeating The Miz and John Morrison.