Skip to main content

NJPW announces participants for this year's Best of the Super Juniors


The names for this year’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament have been revealed.

The number of entrants for this year’s tournament has increased from 16 to 20 participants. They feature wrestlers from not only New Japan, but also CMLL and Ring of Honor.

The list, which was revealed during today's Road to Wrestling Dontaku event is as follows:

  • Ryusuke Taguchi
  • Tiger Mask IV
  • Rocky Romero
  • SHO
  • YOH
  • Will Ospreay
  • Taiji Ishimori
  • El Desperado
  • Taka Michinoku
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Flip Gordon
  • Titan
  • Marty Scurll
  • Dragon Lee
  • Robbie Eagles
  • Jonathan Gresham
  • Bandido
  • Shingo Takagi

The last participant was labeled as “X,” who based on previous vignettes may be El Phantasmo. NJPW’s website notes that X will be officially revealed at Wrestling Dontaku in Fukuoka on May 4.

English commentary during today's show stated that every show for the tournament will air live, and will also have English commentary.

The tournament starts on May 13 and ends on June 5, with the tournament finals taking place at Sumo Hall. Details involving blocks and cards will go down at a later date.