Skip to main content

NJPW Best of the Super Juniors finals are set


The finals for this year’s Best of the Super Juniors are set.

For the first time ever, Hiromu Takahashi and Taiji Ishimori have advanced to the finals and will face one another tomorrow morning at Korakuen Hall to decide the 25th Best of the Super Junior winner. With Will Ospreay out of the equation, it is very likely that the winner of the tournament will challenge him to a title match at Dominion on 6/9.

Ishimori advanced by beating YOH. He needed a win in order to tie with Will Opsreay, and since he beat Ospreay he would win the tiebreaker and advance to the finals. He was at ringside, cheering fellow CHAOS member YOH on as he was rooting for an upset. Despite some close near falls and great support from the crowd, Ishimori trapped YOH in a crossface and earned the submission win. Ospreay, stunned, helped YOH to the back. 

Meanwhile, Takahashi had his hands full with one of the most biggest stars in the division, KUSHIDA. In a match with tremendous heat, Takahashi managed to score the upset win after hitting an inverted piledriver and submitting KUSHIDA with a triangle.

The finals of the Best of the Super Juniors starts tonight at 5:30 a.m. EDT. There will be English commentary.