Skip to main content

Naito vs. Elgin to headline NJPW Power Struggle


New Japan tonight announced the Power Struggle lineup, which is the final major show of the year on November 5th at the Edion Arena in Osaka.

Tetsuya Naito vs. Michael Elgin for the IC title is the main event, although Elgin suffered a broken eye socket in his left eye at yesterday's King of Pro Wrestling show in Sumo Hall from a low dropkick by Naito. As of right now, there is no word on whether he'll need surgery, which could force a change in the main event.

Three more title matches are on the show, as Katsuyori Shibata defends the NEVER title against EVIL, BUSHI defends the IWGP jr. title against KUSHIDA and the tag team titles are on the line with Tama Tonga & Tanga Roa defending against YOSHI-HASHI & Tomohiro Ishii.

In addition, there will be a Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Seiya Sanada singles match, as well as the finals of the junior heavyweight tag team tournament which starts on October 21st.

The first round matches of that tournament are Young Bucks vs. ACH & Taiji Ishimori, David Finlay & Ricochet vs. Gedo & Will Ospreay, Tiger Mask & Jushin Liger vs. Ryusuke Taguchi & Fuego and Rocky Romero & Baretta vs. Angel de Oro & Titan.