Skip to main content

Finals confirmed for NJPW NEVER Six-Man Tag Team title tournament


NJPW's NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team title tournament is down to its final two teams.

It will be an all-Chaos final as Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano & SHO face off with their stablemates Tomohiro Ishii, Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI to determine the new NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Champions. The match is taking place at NJPW's Summer Struggle show at Korakuen Hall on Sunday (August 9).

Okada, Yano & SHO advanced to the finals by defeating SANADA, Shingo Takagi & BUSHI at today's Summer Struggle event. They won by countout after Yano tied the laces of BUSHI's mask to the barricade.

Ishii, Goto & YOSHI-HASHI defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kota Ibushi & Master Wato in today's main event to advance to the finals.

In the first round of the tournament, Okada, Yano & SHO defeated Yujiro Takahashi, Gedo & Jado and Ishii, Goto & YOSHI-HASHI defeated Togi Makabe, Tomoaki Honma & Ryusuke Taguchi.

The NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team titles were declared vacant after EVIL left Los Ingobernables de Japon and joined Bullet Club. He had held the titles with Shingo & BUSHI.

Sunday's Summer Struggle show will begin at 5:30 a.m. Eastern time.