Skip to main content

New champions crowned at NJPW Dominion

Multiple titles changed hands today in Osaka.

Multiple titles changed hands at today's NJPW Dominion event in Osaka-Jo Hall. 

In the show's main event, Jay White defeated Kazuchika Okada to win the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship. White pinned Okada after hitting a Blade Runner to win this iteration of the IWGP Heavyweight title for the first time. White previously held the IWGP Heavyweight Championship in 2019 for 54 days. Okada's first reign with the IWGP World title ends at 159 days and four successful defenses. Okada previously held the IWGP Heavyweight title on five occasions for a record total of 1,790 days.

A new IWGP United States Heavyweight Champion was crowned at Dominion, with  defeating Will Ospreay defeating SANADA to win the vacant title for the first time. Juice Robinson was stripped of the US title on Friday after not making it to Japan for his scheduled defense, citing acute appendicitis as the reason. 

The NEVER Openweight Championship also changed hands in Osaka, with Karl Anderson defeating Tama Tonga to win the title. The win is Anderson's first singles title victory in NJPW. Tonga's first reign with the NEVER title ends at 42 days and zero successful defenses. 

Great-O-Khan and Jeff Cobb captured the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championships, defeating Bad Luck Fale and Chase Owens. This is O-Khan and Cobb's second reign as IWGP Tag champs, while Fale and Owens saw their first run with the titles ended at 42 days and zero defenses. 

Shingo Takagi defeated Taichi to retain the provisional KOPW 2022 title, plus Bullet Club's House of Torture retained the NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team titles in the show's other title bouts. 

In the night's other notable bout, Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Hirooki Goto to advance to the interim AEW World title match at Forbidden Door on June 26 in Chicago.

Our full report on the show can be found here.