Skip to main content

New champions crowned at NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 16 night two

A pair of titles changed hands today in the Tokyo Dome.

New champions were crowned today on night two of NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 16.

Hiroshi Tanahashi regained the IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship, defeating KENTA in a wild no-DQ match after hitting a High Fly Flow off a ladder through a table. KENTA was split open earlier in the bout after falling from the ladder and apparently hitting his face on a trashcan.

Tanahashi ends KENTA's first reign with the US title at 59 days, and begins his second reign with the belt.

Earlier in the show, Minoru Suzuki became the provisional KOPW 2022, defeating Toru Yano, CIMA and Chase Owens in a four-way to determine the first trophy holder of the year.

Three championships were retained on today's show, as Kazuchika Okada defeated Will Ospreay in the main event to retain the IWGP World Heavyweight title, and EVIL, Yujiro Takahashi and SHO defeated Hirooki Goto, YOSHI-HASHI and YOH to retain the NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team titles. Ryusuke Taguchi's quest to begin the 69th IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship reign with Rocky Romero fell short in the main card opener, as Robbie Eagles and Tiger Mask retained those belts.