Skip to main content

New champions crowned at NJPW Road to Power Struggle


New champions were crowned at today's NJPW Road to Power Struggle event. 

Robbie Eagles and Tiger Mask defeated El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship on the third of three consecutive nights at Korakuen Hall in Tokyo. 

Eagles used the Ron Miller Special to submit Kanemaru and earn the title win for his team in the show's main event. 

For Tiger Mask, the win marks the first time he has held gold in NJPW since 2012, when he captured the Junior Tag titles with Jushin Liger. This is also the first time that Eagles has held tag team gold in NJPW. Eagles currently holds the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship, making him a double champion. 

Eagles will defend the Junior Heavyweight title against Desperado at Power Struggle on Saturday, November 6. 

Desperado and Kanemaru's fourth reign with the Junior Tag titles ends after 52 days. Three of their four reigns have come since September 2020, as they have spent much of the last year trading the titles with Bullet Club's Taiji Ishimori and El Phantasmo.